Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 1, 2013 | 3:01 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 3, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 9, 2013

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Daily 2nd? Thank you, it;s an honor! :D

And a weekly second? You guys are spoiling me.

--------

Final Round entry for Albino Black Sheep's Tournament of Flash Artists 2012. The final contestants had only about 3 weeks to complete their entries.

Round theme: "Character Origins"
Challenge: Depict an original, not-designed-before protagonist - or antagonist - who is strongly defined by a strength and a weakness (that aren't the same trait/ability
Opponent this Round: Patrick94

This cartoon is what won me the title of "TOFA 2012 Champion."

For this round, I wanted to do a movie without dialogue. The judges were probably expecting another funny cartoon with lots of dialogue, and I feel that I managed to catch them off-guard.

This isn't the same movie that was turned into ABS; I spent one extra day to add some minor improvements to the movie, bringing the total time spent on this movie (including concept, storyboard, animation, picking music) to 18 days. That also makes this movie a Director's Cut, I guess.

Reviews


pokkid3000pokkid3000

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2013

I felt ALL the feels.ALL OF THEM.


People find this review helpful!

geco-deco12geco-deco12

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 19, 2013

Loved it! The story panned out nicely, the animation and art style were well suited and the idea was well thought out! Loved the ending 5/5!


People find this review helpful!

doomrider7doomrider7

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 3, 2013

This was mazing well done and very touching.



TheLoyalMeatTheLoyalMeat

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

Very touching and moving piece, music complemented it all so well


People find this review helpful!

EATIncorporatedEATIncorporated

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 4, 2013

Beatiful! Amazing! Awesome! I mean, really, how many ways can you say the same thing?? (Well, probably at least a dozen more, but that's beside the point). Watching this animation was like watching what my future could be. Your animating style is very lifelike, in the sense that you see the paper folding like it should, you're handling 2D and 3D items very skillfully, and like All4OneAndOne4None said, the "camera handling" is very well done. The scenes and shots are rendered so well; that's what draws you in, makes you keep watching. For a while, I've aspired to animate like this, and your animation shows that it's possible, and in a short amount of time, at that! For effectively using music, beautifully depicting emotions, and making backgrounds that are simple and uncluttered, and yet delightfully drawn, I have to give you major credit and say that front page is where you belong. Ha, and I'm gushing. :D
Short and sweet, there's almost too much good stuff going on here to mention, and the cat!! It's like everything you want in a darkly stealthy house-cat, rolled up into one super-cool animation.
Wow.


People find this review helpful!