Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Jan 1, 2013 | 3:01 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place January 3, 2013
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 9, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Daily 2nd? Thank you, it;s an honor! :D

And a weekly second? You guys are spoiling me.

--------

Final Round entry for Albino Black Sheep's Tournament of Flash Artists 2012. The final contestants had only about 3 weeks to complete their entries.

Round theme: "Character Origins"
Challenge: Depict an original, not-designed-before protagonist - or antagonist - who is strongly defined by a strength and a weakness (that aren't the same trait/ability
Opponent this Round: Patrick94

This cartoon is what won me the title of "TOFA 2012 Champion."

For this round, I wanted to do a movie without dialogue. The judges were probably expecting another funny cartoon with lots of dialogue, and I feel that I managed to catch them off-guard.

This isn't the same movie that was turned into ABS; I spent one extra day to add some minor improvements to the movie, bringing the total time spent on this movie (including concept, storyboard, animation, picking music) to 18 days. That also makes this movie a Director's Cut, I guess.

Reviews


RevoRobbaRevoRobba

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 1, 2013

"Torn" God damnit it took me some minutes to get the double meaning. BEautyfull!
Keep on making the world a better place, as good as you can, and better



KingCarrotCakeKingCarrotCake

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

This was very sweet. The story is simple and easy to follow without dialogue, and the use of music really helps to convey the emotions of the characters. I found myself caring about the fate of the abandoned sister and I was really glad she got a happy ending. I have to wonder if the design of the torn sister was based at all on the character Paper Pauline from My Cardboard Life or if their resemblance was purely coincidental.


AtroxChobatsu responds:

Thanks!

I'd never heard of that comic before, actually. By the looks of it, we both had the same idea for a distinctly girly hairstyle.


DocCipherDocCipher

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 3, 2013

cutting figures out of paper will never be the same for me again D''''''8
fuk dis sheet *whine*



NashSuNashSu

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 6, 2013

It would have been awesome if the little girl already made her copy as a replacement. That way there will be twins and a sister lol.


People find this review helpful!

AalarumAalarum

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 3, 2013

Lovely, so sad but ends well. Nice to see the odd serious toon here.