Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 27, 2012 | 12:25 PM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice January 2, 2013
  • Review Crew Pick January 2, 2013
  • Daily Feature December 28, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Sorry for taking so long to upload this, the holidays kicked our asses.

Enjoy!

Reviews


SabtasticSabtastic

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2012

Haha wow. Another masterpiece. Good work guys!

I have to know who voiced the epic Christmas carol solo, though.
I'm guessing Mick?? Whoever it was,

DANG, WHAT A VOICE! :V


psychicpebble responds:

THANKS SAB <3


TastyBeverageTastyBeverage

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2012

Better than illwillpress's piece of shit thats for sure. It is the usual quality stuff from you guys. i love you.


People find this review helpful!

BPremoBPremo

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2012

Comparing this christmas special to the rest of the series is interesting. The Ice Cream short really nailed down introducing the characters in a purely humorous fashion. Applooza had pretty good writing overall with a good pay off when the story wrapped itself up but seemed like it was over powered by the gags which isn't necessarily a bad thing at all. These two animations really set up a good base for the series.

Then comes this Christmas Special.

I believe this episode fit with the duration of the episode really well. The writing was all directly relevant to the characters goals. It shows the characters good intentions all the while royally fucking everything up in the process. Even when Chris and Zach try to sing more quiet something you'd expect to not have any terrible consequences, ends up being worse than being too loud.

I thought the singing by Jason Paige was hilarious, I love how Zach and Chris's movements synchronize at the beginning of the singing. You guys really put to use the almost blank canvas likeness of the Hellbenders faces for this scene especially when Chris's face changes with Jason's singing.

The singing scene was the great climax of trial and error of these characters it really mixed the built up feelings of what was witnessed before with good humor and felt satisfying in a story sense and in a humor sense. I felt the power behind it.

The jesus scene wrapped up the whole thing in great absurdity. RicePirate really nailed jesus in a nonchalant and casual way. The voice in combination of the static like nature of his drawn body was funny as fuck.

Like always, animation and art was fantastic and watching these cartoons gives me hope for more people to raise the standards of the visuals they expect from 2D internet animation.

I'm even more interested with seeing how this series unfolds, how the characters develop how Zach and Chris's goofy nature plays off off the very straight environment and other characters.

The overall power behind Chris and Zach's expression and creativity is making me wonder how much deeper these characters go. Maybe its been just the product of merely humor but the power of creating a clay monster that devours people and having the musical ability to save christmas and summon jesus has a mysterious depth to it.

Which brings up more questions about why Chris and Zach are illustrated in a stained glass window in the original intro church scene and why they're called Hellbenders in the first place. Is there something much more sinister to these goofballs or are their intentions really all good?

I look forward to finding out.


People find this review helpful!
psychicpebble responds:

Damn dude, thanks for the in depth review! Glad you like it, and there will be more to come.

As far as the stained glass window goes, you'll have to find out as the series progresses.


NODnuke45NODnuke45

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2012

the beginning was funny, but then it got cliche, and then it got hilarious, on a side note, LOL JUPITER!



AcesArcoAcesArco

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 28, 2012

Offensive to most people in the world, but lol. That kid got really fat