Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 26, 2012 | 2:50 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 27, 2012
  • Weekly 2nd Place January 2, 2013

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

This was my "christmas video".... yeah, nothing Christmassy about it at all. GAH. Guess this is also my last movie submission to Newgrounds this year, and WHATTA YEAR ITS BEEN. I opened up a Facebook Fanpage recently, so of COURSE I had to make a button on the preloader, yet "oddly" it isn't another friggin' naked chick like the YouTube one... might remake them soon (faps)

While making this, I totally ruined my sleeping schedule, I was going to bed at like 4am and waking up at 7am without being able to go back to sleep, so I used my sort-of-insomnia to make this HEH. Today, I went to sleep at 4am and woke up at... 4pm? I mean I guess I got a good nights sleep but damn, its winter, I didn't get to see any daylight AT ALL today, jesus. Plus, at one stage while working on this, I came down with something nasty, most likely brought on by the bad sleep regime. I SUDDENLY got a sharp unbearable pain in my lower back, became cold, got the shivers, felt nauseous and battled a headache. It literally came out of nowhere. But anyways, I got over it, uploaded it to pootube, had a merry christmas (even though my presents were lame and I didn't watch a SINGLE christmas movie on tv which kind of ruined everything LOL) and now here it is for you guys. ENJOY, you better cos i just spent like 5 minutes writing this description gah

Reviews


HunteruidHunteruid

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2012

I'm really sorry you lost so much sleep while making this.

If it is any consolation, you have done well; this film portrays the show exactly as I saw it.

A big, dumb money vaccum, I would even go so far as saying Digimon Data Squad was better...and I'm a die hard digimon gen 1 fan who hates data squad with all my heart for being such an unnecessary rip-off.

Really hope to see more of your work, hopefully you won't lose as much sleep over it :D

Merry Christmas and peace out!


People find this review helpful!

Tanadrine-StudiosTanadrine-Studios

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 27, 2012

Thanks for the laugh! Beyblade was so dumb! :)



Alter-nativeAlter-native

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 27, 2012

This Is Why I Never Got Into Beyblade

Out of all the anime in the "Mon" genre, Beyblade comes off to me as the dumbest, and it's all due to the implementation of "strategy", that is, the lack thereof.

To contrast, in Digimon, Pokemon, and Monster Rancher, we have some kids and monster companions. The monster companion has certain skill set. Some skills are better then others. In the case of Pokemon, we have elemental attacks and defenses, and levels to grind. The kids have an active role in battles because they have to point their fingers and command their monster companion to attack the opposing kid's monster companion with one of their memorized attacks from their six or two move skill set.

With Yu-Gi-Oh, Duel Masters, and Magic the Gathering, we have card games, with a well established set of rules. There are two players, each has an amount of hit points. They put down monster cards to attack and drain the other player's hit points, serving as both an offense and a defense. The monsters have their own hit points, and spell cards can be used to multiply the offensive and defensive capabilities of the monsters.

With Beyblade... They're tops. Just tops. Spinning tops. Glorified dreidals. Kids launch spinning tops, the spinning tops bump each other a bit, and then one of the tops stops spinning.

I admit, the tops look very stylish, with customizable plastic fin blades and their launchers are top notch, but it's a slight modification of this light up UFO-style spinning top toy I used play with when I was 5 and most damning of all, well, to quote wikipedia:

"Beyblade is largely a game of chance, although some players believe a particular launch style can influence the outcome of a game."

In other words, pure luck. A game of 50/50!

Sometimes I hear people rattle off Pokemon battles as "glorified rock, paper, scissors matches", but like I wrote earlier, "some skills are better than others", plus you can train your Pokemon to higher levels and use the bulbapedia to determine the best skill sets and method of level grinding. So all the tournaments and gym leaders are easily comprehended, because the tournaments are contests to determine whose training methods are the best. The Gym leaders and the Elite Four are determined to be the best trainers in the world because they have high level monsters. So in the end Pokemon battles take, patience, determination, knowledge, and just a "little" luck.

With Beyblade, your only strategy is to yank the zipper and pray the other top falls down first.
I dunno what else, maybe tilting the launcher when you "let it rip" might do something.

It's hard to see a tounament style game, let alone an anime based on these spinning tops.

I just can't see a bunch of people would take time out their lives to fund a ton of cash to pay for and sponsor a stadium that houses a tournament of spinning tops. I don't see why and audience would be excited by it, let alone be there. In real life, as demonstrated, this thing would not go on beyond two kids with the same plastic tops saying "Hey, let's launch our tops at the same time, and let 'em bump each other just for kicks. lol!" I don't see a reason to offer the victor of such tournaments a trophy or medal that costs more than the $1 plastic crap you buy at the Party City.

It's absolutely ridiculous to see archetypical Shonen get worked up over a game of spinning tops. It'd be like getting all feisty over a coin toss. There is no accumulated skill that can dictate the out come of coin toss.

This is because it takes about as much effort to win as it does to lose. Zero.

Anyway four and a half stars for a great quality animation. It was another generic parody of something blindingly obvious out of a numerous parodies of things that are blindingly obvious, but it was well drawn, crisply painted, fairly well animated, and I got a good chuckle. Good luck with your next entry SpeedoSausage.


People find this review helpful!

D-Mac-DoubleD-Mac-Double

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 27, 2012

I actually *work* on Beyblade, and I still LOVE this.


People find this review helpful!
SpeedoSausage responds:

woah what haha


ZandolafZandolaf

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2012

F**k you, Beyblade was dumb. :)


People find this review helpful!