Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 14, 2012 | 6:07 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 16, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

BEFORE YOU LEAVE A REVIEW, take this with a grain of salt- many of the "facts" here are purely theoretical and unquantifiable, as is the exact odds of your existence. This animation was created to entertain, and lots of my research has been simplified to reach a greater audience (not to say it isn't accurate, however, it's all as accurate as I could ever get). So don't get all science-y on me, I'm not a professional science-y guy. I just googled some data and multiplied it all together for your amusement. ~Enjoy!

Originally created for NATA 2012, which I ended up winning. Rad!

So this one's actually been finished for a while now, but I didn't have the chance to upload it because of some video file conversion issues, which were resolved by my good pal Ricepirate (thanks!) It's way different than anything else I've ever done, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway :)

So a quick word on the tournament this was for-
I had 25 days to make this, so naturally I saved pretty much all of it for the last week or so. Then a series of increasingly misfortunate things happened, such as my graphics tablet breaking, not being able to find my files, and accidentally overwriting half of my movie seven hours before the deadline. Somehow I managed to pull all the pieces back together, and as luck would have it, I came in first place for the round. My direct opponent for that round, Slackman, came in a close second, which means if I had gotten any lower than first, I would have lost before the semi-finals.

What are the odds?

Reviews


AlexNOSAMAlexNOSAM

Rated 0.5 / 5 stars March 31, 2013

Inaccurate and pointless.



CallozillaCallozilla

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 29, 2013

When I first watched this video, I thought, 'Wow, I'm pretty lucky to be alive.'

However, when I viewed this for a second time, a sudden thought hit me. 'What about the other 10^974076 possible births that never happened?' It made me realize that not only am I extraordinarily lucky to be living, but me and every human being, are the chosen ones.

Before watching this video, birth seemed so... normal. After watching it, seemingly every birth is a treasure, because of it's absolutely minuscule chance of happening. Doesn't that make everything a miracle?

This video really changes my point of view on life as a whole, and I am not surprised that it won NATA. A well deserved 5. Honestly, I wish I could bend the laws of Newgrounds and give this a 69 or 9001, but sadly, I cannot.



awesomeblaze1029awesomeblaze1029

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 25, 2013

cool i never knew that
:]



UndergroundJSUndergroundJS

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 21, 2013

This is awesome! What program was used to make it?


Emrox responds:

Adobe Flash CS5.5


twentyonegigawattstwentyonegigawatts

Rated 0 / 5 stars March 21, 2013

and who the fuck cares what are the odds of anyone being alive - noone asked to live on this fucking world on the first place + we are all slaves to selfpreservation instinct (and other bullshity instincts that often ruin our lives) so everyone has fuckdamned right to contemplate suicide, making people is unethical because there is no way to ask them if they want to live in this shithole with their potentially fucked up genes in poor country or other shit


Emrox responds:

You alright man?