Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 14, 2012 | 6:07 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 16, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 19, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update: I made this when I was fifteen. Settle down.

circa 2012:

BEFORE YOU LEAVE A REVIEW, take this with a grain of salt- many of the "facts" here are purely theoretical and unquantifiable, as is the exact odds of your existence. This animation was created to entertain, and lots of my research has been simplified to reach a greater audience (not to say it isn't accurate, however, it's all as accurate as I could ever get). So don't get all science-y on me, I'm not a professional science-y guy. I just googled some data and multiplied it all together for your amusement. ~Enjoy!

Originally created for NATA 2012, which I ended up winning. Rad!

So this one's actually been finished for a while now, but I didn't have the chance to upload it because of some video file conversion issues, which were resolved by my good pal Ricepirate (thanks!) It's way different than anything else I've ever done, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway :)

So a quick word on the tournament this was for-
I had 25 days to make this, so naturally I saved pretty much all of it for the last week or so. Then a series of increasingly misfortunate things happened, such as my graphics tablet breaking, not being able to find my files, and accidentally overwriting half of my movie seven hours before the deadline. Somehow I managed to pull all the pieces back together, and as luck would have it, I came in first place for the round. My direct opponent for that round, Slackman, came in a close second, which means if I had gotten any lower than first, I would have lost before the semi-finals.

What are the odds?

Reviews


KefkamadmanKefkamadman

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

Who needs emo garbage and bad music to watch and listen to when you have something like this to make a bad day a little better. I'm definitely gonna show this one off. Good show.

Also, congratulations on first place.



NecrovothNecrovoth

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

This... may change suicidal thoughts. Thank you.



artsfantasyartsfantasy

Rated 2 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

What are the odds for the author of this video to source from books other then religious ones? ;]
they are 1 times [all books avalialbe in the world in every language], therefore spaghetti monster exists.

Nice animation though.


Emrox responds:

I did read one super-preachy book that I had to draw a few facts from which you can find in the sources. The rest was gathered from a variety of websites.


th3d3vilscryth3d3vilscry

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

I am lucky and now much more grateful. Thanks for this.

That was motivation and inspiration. Wow...



sharpnovasharpnova

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

rofl. no joke i was just talking to someone about this very concept.

we were joking about how unlucky this really stupid kid was to have his dumbass parents in genetic combination.

and i jokingly said "unlucky for a human but lucky as hell for matter"

then i started talking about how ridiculously unlikely it was on a universe-scale that a random human-size amount of matter gets to assemble into even a living entity, let alone a conscious one, let alone a sentient one. let alone a human one in a time when quality of life is high enough that your chances of living well past child-bearing age are close to 100%.

and then the very next morning after that conversation, i see this on the front page.

what are the odds of that?? lol