Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 14, 2012 | 6:07 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 16, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update: I made this when I was fifteen. Settle down.

circa 2012:

BEFORE YOU LEAVE A REVIEW, take this with a grain of salt- many of the "facts" here are purely theoretical and unquantifiable, as is the exact odds of your existence. This animation was created to entertain, and lots of my research has been simplified to reach a greater audience (not to say it isn't accurate, however, it's all as accurate as I could ever get). So don't get all science-y on me, I'm not a professional science-y guy. I just googled some data and multiplied it all together for your amusement. ~Enjoy!

Originally created for NATA 2012, which I ended up winning. Rad!

So this one's actually been finished for a while now, but I didn't have the chance to upload it because of some video file conversion issues, which were resolved by my good pal Ricepirate (thanks!) It's way different than anything else I've ever done, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway :)

So a quick word on the tournament this was for-
I had 25 days to make this, so naturally I saved pretty much all of it for the last week or so. Then a series of increasingly misfortunate things happened, such as my graphics tablet breaking, not being able to find my files, and accidentally overwriting half of my movie seven hours before the deadline. Somehow I managed to pull all the pieces back together, and as luck would have it, I came in first place for the round. My direct opponent for that round, Slackman, came in a close second, which means if I had gotten any lower than first, I would have lost before the semi-finals.

What are the odds?

Reviews


zephroelectrozephroelectro

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

Great video! Also I wonder if the odds of Alaska sneezing at the same time are greatly affected by Winter :D

Also, ignore the review by Wizard-Lock, they apparently can't do simple Math.
The narrator is not wrong at all about "1.2 thousand" being "1,200".
The text written as "1,200" is clearly not a co-ordinate or anything silly like that.

0.2 * 1000 = 200
1.2 * 1000 = 1200
Thus, "1,200" is most definitely the same as "1.2 thousand".


People find this review helpful!

gsboran576gsboran576

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

thanks budy now i know im special 5 stars ^^


People find this review helpful!

themaxican21themaxican21

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

my mind...blown.



MetalNightmareMetalNightmare

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

Don't let it go to your heads, though. Even the odds of you being alive and you are astronomical, remember, if it wasn't you, it was bound to be *somebody*. ;)

Seriously though, good video. Crisp text, good voices, solid and smooth animation, as well as a fun concept. Even though you're not a science-y guy, though, as a nit-picked I would request that next time you list some of the resources of your research. Other than that, simplified though it may be, it is an excellent illustration of just how complicated our lineage is, and how staggering the process has been. Really, great work. I'm a big fan of anybody who tries to spread the word.


People find this review helpful!

Dangerzone15Dangerzone15

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

hmm the real question is if being alive is better then being dead or whatever before birth is