Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 14, 2012 | 6:07 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 16, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update: I made this when I was fifteen. Settle down.

circa 2012:

BEFORE YOU LEAVE A REVIEW, take this with a grain of salt- many of the "facts" here are purely theoretical and unquantifiable, as is the exact odds of your existence. This animation was created to entertain, and lots of my research has been simplified to reach a greater audience (not to say it isn't accurate, however, it's all as accurate as I could ever get). So don't get all science-y on me, I'm not a professional science-y guy. I just googled some data and multiplied it all together for your amusement. ~Enjoy!

Originally created for NATA 2012, which I ended up winning. Rad!

So this one's actually been finished for a while now, but I didn't have the chance to upload it because of some video file conversion issues, which were resolved by my good pal Ricepirate (thanks!) It's way different than anything else I've ever done, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway :)

So a quick word on the tournament this was for-
I had 25 days to make this, so naturally I saved pretty much all of it for the last week or so. Then a series of increasingly misfortunate things happened, such as my graphics tablet breaking, not being able to find my files, and accidentally overwriting half of my movie seven hours before the deadline. Somehow I managed to pull all the pieces back together, and as luck would have it, I came in first place for the round. My direct opponent for that round, Slackman, came in a close second, which means if I had gotten any lower than first, I would have lost before the semi-finals.

What are the odds?

Reviews


tey1984tey1984

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

... just one thing. there is a lot of people as special as you are, so, you are not that special after all. Quit being so selfish and start taking care of the people around you.



CraftenCraften

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

darklord0211, it was also believed that the cells spawned from nothing, so what's your point?
It's also believes religion is a fact, by some people.

Either way, none have been completely proved.

Great little informative ''slideshow'', I always enjoy these, especially when the facts (or much-discussed theories) actually check out.


People find this review helpful!

darklord0211darklord0211

Rated 1 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

The first organisms did not come from nothingness, it was believed when the earth was still forming that some of the metoerites hitting the earth carried some of these cells which formed one the planet to create DNA, which became the first l"iving thing" on the planet, it all started from there.


Emrox responds:

I suppose "inanimate nothingness" probably wasn't the best choice of words there- what I was trying to convey was the creation of a biotic organism from all previously abiotic matter, but with less scientific terminology so anyone watching the movie could understand what I meant. The key here is the word "inanimate," not the "nothing," because there was clearly "something" to create life.


16Bitgamer16Bitgamer

Rated 0 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

Creationist propaganda.


Emrox responds:

I'm an atheist.


LaurapaloozaLaurapalooza

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

I found it very interesting, and the animation was effective. However, I found the voice acting for the opening and closing parts to be a bit much. It felt melodramatic, like whichever voice actor it was was trying to sound poignant but couldn't pull it off.; it almost sounded like a parody. I think it would have been considerably better to just go about it more casually, for this particular actor.