Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 14, 2012 | 6:07 PM EST
  • Daily Feature December 16, 2012
  • Weekly 3rd Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Update: I made this when I was fifteen. Settle down.

circa 2012:

BEFORE YOU LEAVE A REVIEW, take this with a grain of salt- many of the "facts" here are purely theoretical and unquantifiable, as is the exact odds of your existence. This animation was created to entertain, and lots of my research has been simplified to reach a greater audience (not to say it isn't accurate, however, it's all as accurate as I could ever get). So don't get all science-y on me, I'm not a professional science-y guy. I just googled some data and multiplied it all together for your amusement. ~Enjoy!

Originally created for NATA 2012, which I ended up winning. Rad!

So this one's actually been finished for a while now, but I didn't have the chance to upload it because of some video file conversion issues, which were resolved by my good pal Ricepirate (thanks!) It's way different than anything else I've ever done, but I think you'll enjoy it anyway :)

So a quick word on the tournament this was for-
I had 25 days to make this, so naturally I saved pretty much all of it for the last week or so. Then a series of increasingly misfortunate things happened, such as my graphics tablet breaking, not being able to find my files, and accidentally overwriting half of my movie seven hours before the deadline. Somehow I managed to pull all the pieces back together, and as luck would have it, I came in first place for the round. My direct opponent for that round, Slackman, came in a close second, which means if I had gotten any lower than first, I would have lost before the semi-finals.

What are the odds?

Reviews


ChristianoRonaldoFanChristianoRonaldoFan

Rated 5 / 5 stars 2 days ago

Honestly.... What are the odds people...... Think Logical...... It only get's bigger and bigger... :D. Great Video.



AxomAxom

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 10, 2014

yyyyeah but you forgot to tak into account, THE SHWARTZ!



TroisnyxTroisnyx

Rated 5 / 5 stars June 6, 2014

Big blatant note in all caps to those who don't get the point of the video:

IF YOU'RE NOT HAPPY TO BE ALIVE, AND STILL AREN'T AFTER WATCHING THIS VID, THEN DON'T FORCE IT DOWN ON THE CREATOR. HE CHOSE TO SHARE THIS WITH YOU. YOU CHOSE TO WATCH IT. IF YOU CAN'T DO ANYTHING PRODUCTIVE WITH YOUR LIFE, START BY DOING ONE THING. STOP BLOODY COMPLAINING!

There. Now that that rant is over, let me get to the video.

The animations and transitioning are smooth. Sure, it's in the style of an infographic. But so is Dot Dot Dot (to quell the wrath of the many hypocrites in the Review section here). I don't think double standards should be made simply because the video isn't a conventional animation.

The music is well picked for the clip. It leaves you in a contemplative state of mind, even if only for a short time. I say contemplative, because we are left contemplating figures that may or may not seem likely or accurate -- yet remind us of the fact that if we follow simple probability, there is no certainty or concrete proof that specific meetings are going to happen in future to create each individual. There is no certainty at all.

The voices were well done.

The whole point is that each individual is precious, whether we think so or not. Whether he has been born with a silver spoon, or not. I'm among the people who haven't been born with a silver spoon, and yet, I am here -- and I yearn to make my life holy, set apart. Although many may not share what I hold in life, they may have inklings of what to do with their lives -- and there is no cause at all to sit around and mope all day. We're just too precious for that.

I still find this superbly done, and I'm glad that this film went far ahead.

5/5.


People find this review helpful!

bluemustard2bluemustard2

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2013

Captivating and informational; thanks for the insight!


People find this review helpful!

GladimnotinrussiaGladimnotinrussia

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 9, 2013

We are all winners when you bring biology into the picture