Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 13, 2012 | 3:31 PM EST

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

Here it is, my bread and butter since October 15th, the black hole into which I disappeared for two months. It's the story of a polar bear that leaves the zoo in search of his home. I would like to quickly apologize for the terribly large file size; there are a lot of effects in here, and I didn't want to completely butcher the audio quality. Again, I apologize.

The idea for the story was loosely inspired by Gus, the neurotic, depressed polar bear from the Central Park Zoo. Gus's polar bear friend/bff/companion, Ida, was euthanized a bit over a year ago, and I just toyed with that situation to create the idea for this video.

This was my final project for my intro to digital media class; I chose to animate a music video for my friends' song. It's not what I would consider the usual Newgrounds fare in theme or sound, but I hope you all enjoy it just the same.

The Great Earth Experiment is no longer together, but I've included links to the Bandcamp and Facebook of the members' new band at the end of the video. The music is pay what you want (read as "free"), so there's no reason you shouldn't download it. You could even download it to make fun of it, if that's what you're into.

Edit: Thanks a million for the front page! I have officially completed one of the goals I've had since my first cartoon got blammed back in '05. Eight years later, and it still feels damn good.

Updated video: I just uploaded an MP4 version that should alleviate any loading/lag problems you might experience. It also has some polished bits that weren't present when I first uploaded it. For instance, the running scene in the beginning should look quite a bit nicer/more natural now.

Reviews


TheJaredWilcurtTheJaredWilcurt

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 30, 2013

I'm not a big fan of the song, but it's definitely not bad, like 6.5/10. But the use of animation with it works really well. I feel like there's a bit too much recycling of work though. The walk cycle is so short that its constantly looping just comes across as lazy where as the obvious intent is to showcase the monotony of the journey and the bears determination. The sort of sloppiness to the style of the drawings works in it's favor but only so much. When such a central part of the animation is "walk to the right", you need to try drawing it again so that it can interrupt the repetitiveness, or just make the walk cycle much longer.

I kept wondering how you were going to end it, and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't feel like the animation was too long at all or boring, which seems to what others are saying, it just let the focus go to the music and didn't try to compete too much for the attention.

The execution is flawed, but the work as a whole is decent. Work harder on the next project, no more lazy animating.


dylan responds:

This song's not necessarily my favorite of theirs either, but the tone matched up too well to pick another. That's some damn good advice for me to keep in mind next time I'm working on something in this sort of style, and I'm glad to see that you got the idea behind making it a very somber, monotonous journey.

My original intent was to have a different walk cycle at each stage of the journey, starting with the regular one and finishing with a labored limp, but time was my better; the walk cycles ended up being one of the artistic sacrifices that I needed to make in order to meet the deadline. Thanks for the awesome critique!


danae92danae92

Rated 1 / 5 stars January 30, 2013

Soooooooooooo boring.......


dylan responds:

I know, right? I wonder what piece of shit made this awful animation. Probably some total loser.


horsenwelleshorsenwelles

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 25, 2013

20 mb? jesus, but ok. lets begin:

it was, in short, nice. everything had such a sense of softness to it. the story, while simple and a little shallow, was right where it needed to be. it wasn't anything more than that, and it succeeded in what it set out to do. i did think the whole "it was all a dream" concept kinda took away from the whole experience, but it was nice regardless of that tired cliche.

the animation is where i would normally tear into it, but because it was very self aware, and it was obviously not from a seasoned animator, its quite good. the proportions on the human characters was pretty awkward though, and i would definitely work on that, but for the bear, i rather liked the design and the direction you went with it. i did notice most of the flash is 1 walking animation that you just made a new movieclip for every time a new event took place, and the reuse of the looking up animation, but i wont hold that against you. for what the story needed to be, it told it well, and you framed the shots very nicely (especially the underwater scene. it was a fantastic shot).

i don't think there's much else here to say. some choppy animation, but it held together, and it did what it needed to. i guess the song was a little mediocre for my taste, but it again worked in this. pretty nice job.

PS: yes. the only reason i found this and am reviewing it is because of your comment on my newspost. i honestly wasn't expecting to give this an entirely positive review, but here ya go


People find this review helpful!

JomillexJomillex

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 13, 2013

The singer needs to project from his diafram. On the animation spectrum. It was very nicely done. Just try to keep consistency with line size.


dylan responds:

I'll pass the music advice on to the singer. And yeah, working in 640x360 and expanding it to 960x540 really makes the difference so much more noticeable than I had anticipated. I'll definitely be keeping an eye on that in the future. Thanks for the review!


roesreaderroesreader

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2012

A wonderful story of a journey home. Made me tear up, very well done sir.


People find this review helpful!
dylan responds:

Glad to see it had such an impact!