Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 12:31 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 19, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

Edit: *Daily second, Weekly 5th, Review Crew Pick, added to the zelda collection, and front page! Thanks a ton NG I am speechless : >*

Ten years before Majora's Mask, which might explain why the characters are younger than in the game : >

There were a lot of starts and stops for this flash, but I am glad it if finally finished. Special thanks to the voice actors for being so patient through this. Also to the folks on the Skype Superlab, Budj, Joey, Tami, Teejay, Gustavos, and Anna for testing and helping me with the animation flow over countless hours. : P

I had this idea about a year ago and sent the script to a different animator. However before she got started, she dropped out of the project because of school, so I ended up animating the entirety of it.

The flash is a double narrative, featuring two different stories, that share a same meaning. Since a lot of people are not familiar with Majora's Mask, or have it fresh in their heads, I knew it might have people that wouldn't understand it or be familiar with the characters, such as the young boy "Kafei." So I equipped it with a moral at the end to make it interesting for non- zelda fans as well, hopefully.

Special thanks to Seraphim for the great looking loading screen art. Hopefully people can contact him if they need commissions done, he was great to work with.

I hope you enjoy the bitter sweet parable of A Keaton's Tale

-Esty

Reviews


Nick2292Nick2292

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

Very well done. Great animation and voice acting. Made me wanna bust out the old N64 and play some Majora's.


People find this review helpful!

BerryBunnehBerryBunneh

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2012

I felt very touched by the moral and the story. I loved this story for various reasons, Kafei is my favorite character of Majora's Mask, I mostly played the game for his story. As for the Young Deku Scrub, he also has a special place in my heart despite the fact that they never really showed him alive in the game. Still it was his soul and body that helped Link since the beginning of the game, a very important character that may go somewhat unnoticed by quite a few people, despite being just what he set out to be, a legendary hero.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks I am glad the flash resonated with you : > I agree, I guess in a way the Deku got to be a hero through Link after all.


h0shikageh0shikage

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

That was spectacular! The animation, context of the story, script and character voices were perfect. But what made it so heartfelt was the fact that it gives the exact same feel as the Majora's mask story itself with both deep and sad feeling. The only thing that disappointed me was that I did not want it to end, cannot wait for more of your work :D. Thank you for sharing this with us,


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thank you for sharing your review. I hope you will favorite the other artists as well, so you don't miss any of their great work! : >


BasamuneBasamune

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 18, 2012

My favorite zelda game over all, love the video and you did a good job the Keaton's personality


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks, Seymour did a great job of bringing him to life : >


Shadow9808Shadow9808

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 6, 2013

This was a very special flash. It added depth to the game's backstory for two characters, helping to explain where Kafei got his mask, and yet still keeping the mystery of how the young Deku Scrub had his own spirit become a mask. Like the foxes of myths, the Keaton clearly is a wise trickster, offering sagely advice to those willing to open both their ears and hearts and listen. he animation was beautifully fluid, the voice acting VERY well done in both capturing the innocence of the two youths and the mysterious wise yet playful tone of the Keaton, and the way the story was presented is done in a way that makes it FEEL like it belongs in the Zelda lore. I will most certainly share this flash with my fellow Zelda loving fans, with high hopes this flash will touch them as deeply as it did me. Well done to everyone who was a part of this wonderful project.


People find this review helpful!