Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 12:31 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 19, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

Edit: *Daily second, Weekly 5th, Review Crew Pick, added to the zelda collection, and front page! Thanks a ton NG I am speechless : >*

Ten years before Majora's Mask, which might explain why the characters are younger than in the game : >

There were a lot of starts and stops for this flash, but I am glad it if finally finished. Special thanks to the voice actors for being so patient through this. Also to the folks on the Skype Superlab, Budj, Joey, Tami, Teejay, Gustavos, and Anna for testing and helping me with the animation flow over countless hours. : P

I had this idea about a year ago and sent the script to a different animator. However before she got started, she dropped out of the project because of school, so I ended up animating the entirety of it.

The flash is a double narrative, featuring two different stories, that share a same meaning. Since a lot of people are not familiar with Majora's Mask, or have it fresh in their heads, I knew it might have people that wouldn't understand it or be familiar with the characters, such as the young boy "Kafei." So I equipped it with a moral at the end to make it interesting for non- zelda fans as well, hopefully.

Special thanks to Seraphim for the great looking loading screen art. Hopefully people can contact him if they need commissions done, he was great to work with.

I hope you enjoy the bitter sweet parable of A Keaton's Tale

-Esty

Reviews


smokey351smokey351

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 21, 2012

animation, cinematography, and production value aside (because im not in the mood to critique)...What a beautiful story! I'm so happy you took the time to give this to the world! I happen to believe it has a very touching and applicable message. its movies like yours why I love Newgrounds. keep up the amazing work and the mature creativity :)


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thank you, that is a very thoughtful review. I am glad you appreciate the work that went into this, not just mine, but the voice actors and other artists as well : >


SeymourSeymour

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2012

This came out just plain amazing, the story was great enough to actually be canonical to Majora's Mask.
Well done everyone~


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks seymour, I could not have gotten a better Keaton voice to keep that cannon going :>


MrManlyMustacheMrManlyMustache

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

I love this. well animated and very well scripted. props to you guys for doing such a great job. :)


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

I did get lucky to work with a great cast, thanks for your review : >


SpikeWhiplashSpikeWhiplash

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

don't get me wrong here and see that i gave you 5 stars
but i am pretty sure none of that ever happened to kafei or he never mentions how he got he keaton mask i dunno but what i am sure of is that kafei uses the mask as a disguise so nobody would recognize him but still this was after so much stuff had passed
and the buttler's son i remember vagely but he went off two years not ten before everything happened
but still great fan fiction dude i liked it a lot


People find this review helpful!

hyrapowerhyrapower

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2012

Usually I don't comment on anything but this was great. I reccommend this purely for the writing. The animation could use a little work regarding spinning objects like the top of the clock tower but other than that it was absolutely perfect. Well done, please submit more.


People find this review helpful!