Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 12:31 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 19, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

Edit: *Daily second, Weekly 5th, Review Crew Pick, added to the zelda collection, and front page! Thanks a ton NG I am speechless : >*

Ten years before Majora's Mask, which might explain why the characters are younger than in the game : >

There were a lot of starts and stops for this flash, but I am glad it if finally finished. Special thanks to the voice actors for being so patient through this. Also to the folks on the Skype Superlab, Budj, Joey, Tami, Teejay, Gustavos, and Anna for testing and helping me with the animation flow over countless hours. : P

I had this idea about a year ago and sent the script to a different animator. However before she got started, she dropped out of the project because of school, so I ended up animating the entirety of it.

The flash is a double narrative, featuring two different stories, that share a same meaning. Since a lot of people are not familiar with Majora's Mask, or have it fresh in their heads, I knew it might have people that wouldn't understand it or be familiar with the characters, such as the young boy "Kafei." So I equipped it with a moral at the end to make it interesting for non- zelda fans as well, hopefully.

Special thanks to Seraphim for the great looking loading screen art. Hopefully people can contact him if they need commissions done, he was great to work with.

I hope you enjoy the bitter sweet parable of A Keaton's Tale

-Esty

Reviews


CogmosesCogmoses

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 14, 2012

What an interesting take on what these characters have gone through 10 years before Majora's Mask even happened. I definitely like the voice work for this. Keep up the good work!


People find this review helpful!

luxtenebraeluxtenebrae

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 20, 2012

I like seeing an animation based of the Keatons, I've always been a fan. The animation okay and it is interesting seeing the characters in the past. The moral the story is quite a good lesson and I feel the choice of voice actors is very fitting.


People find this review helpful!

heartless-warrior10heartless-warrior10

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 12, 2012

Well thought out and well animated. im glad i took the time to watch this.


People find this review helpful!

Heretic-AnchoriteHeretic-Anchorite

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

good animation, but the writing needs some work.

If you are trying to convey a message using two nonlinear short stories with a common theme don't have an ending monologue to tell us the message in the movie. It just feels as if you are forcing a message down our throat, and by directly answering all the questions yourself directly you just ruin any depth in the story.

We aren't children, you don't need to tell us how to interpret your story.

The animation and artwork was great, but writing needs serious work.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

I agree with you to some extent. Originally I didn't have the speech at the end, but a lot of people I tested it on felt left in the dark, so I used the ending speech to provide a more general audience with a tool to make their own interpretations, rather than leaving them confused. Thanks for the review : >


Castlekid51Castlekid51

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 19, 2012

Nice pun at the end (We keatons have many tales...) heres the pun version (We keatons have many tails)


People find this review helpful!