Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 12:31 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 19, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

Edit: *Daily second, Weekly 5th, Review Crew Pick, added to the zelda collection, and front page! Thanks a ton NG I am speechless : >*

Ten years before Majora's Mask, which might explain why the characters are younger than in the game : >

There were a lot of starts and stops for this flash, but I am glad it if finally finished. Special thanks to the voice actors for being so patient through this. Also to the folks on the Skype Superlab, Budj, Joey, Tami, Teejay, Gustavos, and Anna for testing and helping me with the animation flow over countless hours. : P

I had this idea about a year ago and sent the script to a different animator. However before she got started, she dropped out of the project because of school, so I ended up animating the entirety of it.

The flash is a double narrative, featuring two different stories, that share a same meaning. Since a lot of people are not familiar with Majora's Mask, or have it fresh in their heads, I knew it might have people that wouldn't understand it or be familiar with the characters, such as the young boy "Kafei." So I equipped it with a moral at the end to make it interesting for non- zelda fans as well, hopefully.

Special thanks to Seraphim for the great looking loading screen art. Hopefully people can contact him if they need commissions done, he was great to work with.

I hope you enjoy the bitter sweet parable of A Keaton's Tale

-Esty

Reviews


kingdomguy15kingdomguy15

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 14, 2012

This was a real good anmation. The story was pretty interesting for both characters(though I felt the deku kid's was slightly shorter). Animation flowed smoothly, and the art style was terriffic( loved how much work you put in the facial expressions and movement of the deku kid when he talked) Finally, the voice acting was magnificent for each character. to hear anju and kafi interact with each other really helps show the bond they have together. Also your voice actor for the keaton was most impressive he really nailed the trits of being wise and trying to spread that "Keton humor" Overall, you guys did great and I look foward to your next tale.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Yeah the "Hunt" for voice actors lasted awhile, but I am very glad with who we found : ) Thanks for your review.


HadoukenDudeHadoukenDude

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2013

Beautifly done. This is an interesting take on 2 of the many unknown stories hidden in Majora's Mask. it almost feels canon. The Keaton's voice was a nice touch, sounding mischievous and mysterious at the same time, like the Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland in a way.

I hope to see more "Keaton Tales" sometime in the future, the idea has potential to explain the many backstories of Termina.


People find this review helpful!

LS10LS10

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2012

Excellent use of Majora's Mask music to set the atmosphere. This actually got me wanting to go back and play the game again. Fantastic narrative. And very true to the character of a kitsune to tell this type of story, and then end it with such a clever pun. Strong work.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks for the review : >


TheClunkheadsTheClunkheads

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 17, 2012

Man! majorias mask is my favorite zelda game and i gotta say , that was pretty great.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks mine too : >


nosettnosett

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 18, 2012

Wonderful. some things require you to play the game to understand, like the deku's father going to the first temple and eventually is the on that races Link. I remember him saying that he used to race his son.... Great job! I would love to see more of this stuff.


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Thanks for the review : > yeah the reference is based on that one part which is very subtle. : >