Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 12:31 PM EST
  • Review Crew Pick December 19, 2012
  • Daily 2nd Place December 14, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place December 19, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Zelda
    Zelda Link and his misadventures have always made for some great spoofs and tributes.

Author Comments

Edit: *Daily second, Weekly 5th, Review Crew Pick, added to the zelda collection, and front page! Thanks a ton NG I am speechless : >*

Ten years before Majora's Mask, which might explain why the characters are younger than in the game : >

There were a lot of starts and stops for this flash, but I am glad it if finally finished. Special thanks to the voice actors for being so patient through this. Also to the folks on the Skype Superlab, Budj, Joey, Tami, Teejay, Gustavos, and Anna for testing and helping me with the animation flow over countless hours. : P

I had this idea about a year ago and sent the script to a different animator. However before she got started, she dropped out of the project because of school, so I ended up animating the entirety of it.

The flash is a double narrative, featuring two different stories, that share a same meaning. Since a lot of people are not familiar with Majora's Mask, or have it fresh in their heads, I knew it might have people that wouldn't understand it or be familiar with the characters, such as the young boy "Kafei." So I equipped it with a moral at the end to make it interesting for non- zelda fans as well, hopefully.

Special thanks to Seraphim for the great looking loading screen art. Hopefully people can contact him if they need commissions done, he was great to work with.

I hope you enjoy the bitter sweet parable of A Keaton's Tale

-Esty

Reviews


jakejake543jakejake543

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 5, 2013

Very intresting video its hard to find real creativity anymore. I would love to see more keaton tales. Whether they be actuallynfrom the game or fanfiction its nice to see more of the zelda universe be explored rather then just link amd zelda.


People find this review helpful!

hotoburdhotoburd

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 3, 2013

Sorry to say as well done as this was ( I reall liked the keatons voice)... Kafei got his mask from the sales man at the Curiosity Shop. He tells Link he gave Kafei the mask when he was young and was surprised he kept it looking good all thoughs years then gives Link the mask. I dont know if this is fan fiction or supossed to be a prequele of some sort, but i just thought i should say that for thoughs who don't know or remeber. I wish there would have been more to the deku buttlers son though thats one of the coolest/saddist mysterise of the game


People find this review helpful!
EASTBEAST responds:

Yeah there is that too. I wanted to go into detail explaining how Kafei gets the mask stolen or loses it, then his friend the curiosity shop (boy) gives him a new one he made, to make his friend feel less terrible. But the flash would have ran too long, but that could be a different story.
Thanks for the review : >


firebeast56firebeast56

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2013

Me guesta.


People find this review helpful!

HadoukenDudeHadoukenDude

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2013

Beautifly done. This is an interesting take on 2 of the many unknown stories hidden in Majora's Mask. it almost feels canon. The Keaton's voice was a nice touch, sounding mischievous and mysterious at the same time, like the Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland in a way.

I hope to see more "Keaton Tales" sometime in the future, the idea has potential to explain the many backstories of Termina.


People find this review helpful!

Xen25Xen25

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 1, 2013

Keaton Ghost: "We Keaton have many... tales..." *chuckle"
Me: Boooooo! XD

Anyway, I love this; an interesting take on how Kafei got his mask, and the voice acting was superb!
Thank you for making this! :D


People find this review helpful!