Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 12, 2012 | 4:32 AM EST
  • Daily 5th Place December 13, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Acolyte 5 Points Unlocked 3 Spirit abilities.
Backstory 5 Points Viewed the entire prologue.
DecentShot 5 Points Unlocked 3 Bow Use abilities.
Fighter 5 Points Unlocked 3 Melee Combat abilities.
KoboldKiller 5 Points Faced kobolds and emerged victorious!
Occultist 5 Points Unlocked 3 Conjuration abilities.
OrcOpposer 5 Points Faced orcs and emerged victorious!
SmoothMover 5 Points Unlocked 3 Movement abilities.
Teamwork 5 Points Unlocked a battalion slot.
Tinkerer 5 Points Unlocked 3 Alchemy abilities.
ToughGuy 5 Points Unlocked 3 Armor Use abilities.
Tutorialized 5 Points Completed the tutorial.
WakefieldStudios 5 Points Visited the developer's website
Archer 10 Points Unlocked 6 Bow Use abilities.
Athlete 10 Points Unlocked 6 Movement abilities.
Chemist 10 Points Unlocked 6 Alchemy abilities.
Cleric 10 Points Unlocked 6 Spirit abilities.
Conjurer 10 Points Unlocked 6 Conjuration abilities.
FullSquad 10 Points Unlocked all 3 battalion slots.
Protector 10 Points Unlocked 6 Armor Use abilities.
SkellySchooler 10 Points Faced skeletal wizards and emerged victorious!
TVTrasher 10 Points Faced tellers of visions and emerged victorious!
Warrior 10 Points Unlocked 6 Melee Combat abilities.
ZealotZapper 10 Points Faced zealots and emerged victorious!
Acrobat 25 Points Unlocked an entire Movement tree!
DemonDestroyer 25 Points Faced demons and emerged victorious!
EliteTank 25 Points Unlocked an entire Armor Use tree!
GolemGanker 25 Points Faced iron golems and emerged victorious!
Legionary 25 Points Unlocked an entire Melee Combat tree!
MadScientist 25 Points Unlocked an entire Alchemy tree!
MasterBowman 25 Points Unlocked an entire Bow Use tree!
Saint 25 Points Unlocked an entire Spirit tree!
Warlock 25 Points Unlocked an entire Conjuration tree!
Commander 50 Points Unlocked 5 heroes
Victory 50 Points Defeated the final boss.

Author Comments

In this top-down RPG/Defense game, you control a battalion of heroes whose task is to stop wave after wave of free-moving and cooperative monsters. Gameplay is real-time, tactical, and intense. But, you will also have to succeed strategically, selecting a battalion of up to 3 heroes from a possible 7, and growing their attributes and abilities effectively.

_____________________
2012.12.19 - New in v1.241

Newgrounds high scores can now be accessed through the Battle Preparation Screen.

_____________________
2012.12.17 - New in v1.240

Keystones from dead heroes will now be restored to the player. The hero will, however, remain dead.

_____________________
2012.12.14 - New in v1.220

OKAY, OKAY! You can replay levels for more honor! BUT. There will be diminishing returns for multiple replays of the same level. HA!

______________
For news and updates, follow us:
http://wakefieldstudios.n ewgrounds.com/follow

Thanks!

Reviews


DJCambellDJCambell

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

Great concept, its definitely the best game on this site at the moment. Well done.



BenwaHakubiBenwaHakubi

Rated 3 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

Good concept but awkwardly executed. First off the art is a little blurry and could use a small touch up. If the artwork in the game looked like it did in the prologue that would be epic. I liked the voices and story a lot. Second the gameplay is a bit confusing it is a bit hard to understand what to do at first. I almost gave up learning because I got stuck in the menu and did not know how to exit it. For some reason the tiny X near my character's picture was not working and I had to restart the game. Basically make it more obvious as to what to click on.


People find this review helpful!

DirolTerminatorDirolTerminator

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars December 13, 2012

Nice try. You've tried to do something good and epic. And you've really did it. Well, it's really epic... But it's difficult to control and almost impossible to play and enjoy it.

You've should think more of a gameplay and how it would be played, and NOT to think like "what else features we can implement->wow we have a huge collection of stand alone features, now we need to combine it and what's in result we'll call a finished product"..
That not the way good games are made.
You should approach right from the start and continue it all the way of development process to think from the player's perspective, and not from the possibilities ("what else we can implement").


People find this review helpful!
WakefieldStudios responds:

Thank you for this thoughtful feedback, DirolTerminator - it's true that we've been struggling to make the game more approachable / easier to control from the get-go. We'd love to hear any insights you have as to how the controls & gameplay could be improved from here!


Mee09Mee09

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2012

This is wonderful!



BDJBDJ

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 12, 2012

5 stars, b4 it even loads... Why you ask?? B/c i read it as The Applesause Wall XD