Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Dec 10, 2012 | 6:00 PM EST
  • Daily 2nd Place December 12, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

[YOU CAN CUSTOMIZE CONTROLS IN THE OPTIONS MENU]

Commerical talk:
Massive Action platformer following in the footsteps of giants like Super Meat Boy or N+, spanning 45 levels across 3 unique worlds. Features: final boss, high scores, original soundtrack and a jetpack!

SkullFace, has been in the works for about 7 months and began almost a year before that! So much care and play-testing has gone into every level and nuance in this game, i hope you enjoy the experience. A challenging and rewarding adventure with original soundtrack by Adam Dishongh, that ends with a climactic showdown.

Real talk:
Woah, this is my biggest game to date and has taken a lot of work, i put my heart and soul into this thing. It started a long time back with a programmer who later moved to San Fransisco and work on the project, so i took the art assets redesigned the game a bit, and learned to program it myself in Stencyl Engine. Its largely inspired by SuperMeatBoy, N+ and Jumper.. i loved those games, the new wave of action platformer and so i just really wanted to make one. The game is about constant learning and the feeling of achievement when you beat a level, only to be met with a new challenge and so new obstacles are introduced every few levels across the entire game to keep it fresh. The main focus is on smooth movement and the under flow of rolling/jumping/jetpackin g.. the first time i made a boss battle as well, and the most play-tested and tweaked a game. been wanting to make a for ages, and i think something a lot of indie devs want to try.. so i hope i did it justice and to be honest this project was really fucking challenging from start to finish, and also was a financial failure as well, but i hope it is well received and the effort that went into it shines through. I really underestimated how difficult it would be to program the whole game myself as well as do the art/design/animation.. but despite wanting to quit several times during development and many long nights, i stuck with it and am super proud. the first time commissioned a soundtrack as well, and i think the music is great and really matches the gameplay. looking forward to feedback about the game and how it will be received by the players

Reviews


steelxsteelx

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars 3 days ago

This is amazing! the well placed obstacles, the music, and the graphics. but I feel this is also just a generic platformer. why was is his face a skull? I need a story and something to make it stand out.



GUN5L1N63RGUN5L1N63R

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2013

awesome platformer game¡¡¡



stevelovesguitarsstevelovesguitars

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2013

what an underrated game. the visuals are great, it's balanced really well, a lot of thinking obviously went into level design.
small side note: the mechanic that you jump higher after landing on an enemy when you run faster feels kinda bad



Zora213Zora213

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 7, 2013

This is probably my one of my most favorite platformers on NG. The art style in the game is pretty with a lot of vibrant colors, making a sort of cheerful atmosphere, aside from the actual story. It's an overall, good looking game. The music is extremely pumping and gets you in the mood to hurl yourself towards anything and ready to beat any challenge thrown at you. gameplay is extremely solid. Teaching the player about the controls and new obstacles as the player progresses through the game with clever placements, letting the obstacles present themselves for the player to observe and then continue on their path, teaching the player about the obstacles fairly, allowing the only challenge to be the player's skill and witts versus the game. However, I would have like to see a broader variation of enemies. The obstacles make up for more than that, so I will let it slide. This 'old-school' way of teaching lets the player feel like they aren't having their hand held with directions and controls popping up right in their face. The controls in this game are loose, but not too loose, giving the player a sense of momentum. Using the jetpack also has some physics behind them, making the player think about how long and far they should boost. The jetpack was definitely done extremely well. However, I do feel as though the wall jump could have used just a little bit of tweaking. Other than that, the controls are next to perfect. The only other bad thing I have to say about the game is the boss. It was quite lack luster. Most of the obstacles are easy to dodge. Durring the throwing of the spinning maces and blades, there is litterally one spot you could just stand still in and easily avoid all the hazards. Here is my final score:

----------------------------------------------------
Visuals- 9.5/10
+Very vibrant color scheme
----------------------------------------------------
Sound- 9/10
+Great pumping music
----------------------------------------------------
Gameplay- 8.5/10
+Fluid controls
+Smartly placed obstacles
-Lack luster boss
----------------------------------------------------
Final Rating- 9/10
----------------------------------------------------

The game could've been just a little bit better as far as the boss goes and although there are many challenging obstacles, some enemy variation would have been fun to destroy along your adventure instead of one kind here and there in a level. However this game was extremely well made and a good challenge, making every obstacle you get passed a reward. And the challenge isn't too tought that it would make someone want to quit right at the spot and give up. Keep up the good work.


People find this review helpful!

KyleplaysminecraftKyleplaysminecraft

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 1, 2013

lag will screw u over on some of the levels, but great game none the less