Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


Marvelous22Marvelous22

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Bet it was a great game just could never finish it, got lost and didn't know what to do and 2 characters glitched together and I can't move either one... but yeah... bet it was good...


People find this review helpful!

KeepoladonKeepoladon

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 7, 2012

There's a glitch at the end where if you possess Lucille(? The shy one I dunno) then you're unable to talk to her or anybody else and if you leave the room then all the doors become locked and you're stuck. I hate that this silly thing ruined the game for me but from what I've played I really did enjoy it. Its just a shame I didn't get to see the end.


People find this review helpful!

Necrotic-FleshrotNecrotic-Fleshrot

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

This was fun, though a bit short. There's so much room for expansion! You left a few unanswered questions that could be fleshed out and add SO much more to the story. We never did get to find out exactly what "crime" trade Cricket and the owner were involved in, we never did get to see the reactions the owner's ghost had to finding out about his murder, and we also never got to see if one of the guests was the serial killer Lucille was originally hunting.

I could totally see the hotel having a gruesome backstory in terms of its crime syndicate. Organ harvesting, slave trade, personal torture chambers ala "Hostel". I could also totally see a secondary story unfolding and turning into a slasher when the serial killer becomes active now that Lucille is dead (or is she? Maybe Cricket only left her wounded and unconscious...). Maybe it turns out Rose is the killer (not unlike Mrs. Voorhees) since she pretty much hates humanity. Or maybe Iblis isnt the perfectly innocent little girl we thought...she has a "talking doll" after all and she is far smarter than her age would lead you to believe....

In short, THERES SO MUCH MORE TO BE DONE HERE!!!! I would love to see this re-made or extended. The characters have so much personality to be explored and the story still has so many possibilities. I feel like a fanboy anxiously awaiting part 2 after being left with a massive cliffhanger. As a result, 3.5 out of 5 my good man. You have a gem here waiting to be polished!


People find this review helpful!

SpaceDazeeSpaceDazee

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

It was great, until I get to meet with a certain someone where the owner was killed. I went in with Cricket and the screen goes black on me except for the door. I hit space and I'm the spirtish person, I can move around, but only through an entire black screen. I don't know if I'll finish it, I don't want to run around and talk to everyone again since I have to start all over. A save point option would have been nice.


People find this review helpful!

chronohinatachronohinata

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 28, 2012

I enjoyed the game. The ghost mechanic was neat, even if it turns out it wasn't really... I don't know, influential? Like someone pointed out earlier, everyone acted as themselves and not the owner.

That aside, I was wondering, how many endings are there? I've beaten the game a couple of times, just wondering.


People find this review helpful!