Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


DemicakeDemicake

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2012

Fuck...


People find this review helpful!

HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

Oh, NOW it has medals! Pfft... Well, I've run through again, and talked to everyone as everyone at least once, but my Identity Crisis medal isn't showing, nor either Secret Medal... Oh well, onto the review!

It's a great concept reasonably implemented. I was a little disappointed with the ending, I'd guessed the murderer early on but felt sure it would turn out to be a crime of passion, and I really don't think our detective would be so careless at the end there, not to mention that I was unimpressed by the end twist. There's really no point to a "twist" in a game if it comes after the gameplay has finished, it just made the end scene seem rushed.

Some other points (good and bad):
- I like how we didn't really so much "control" the people as motivate them to move/ask certain things. Subtle!
- The characters had nice variety, and Orvall was a funny touch (though I did feel sorry for him).
- TOO MUCH WALKING! Going all the way from the top left room to the office was hardly exciting gameplay. It was a bit lengthy with the kid, let alone the others... Really you'd have benefited from having the characters move around by themselves somewhat, ESPECIALLY as that would lend itself to a longer plot (e.g. someone disappears, the player slowly gets suspicious, has to try to get the others to notice)
- Suitable graphics
- Great dialogue
- Creepy doll (nice)

In conclusion it's a good game and the concept gives room for a LOT of potential, you should definitely do another like it!


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Thanks for the review! I agree with the point that it isn't good to have a huge plot twist after the gameplay is done, as I did in this case; the narrative and gameplay should taper off simultaneously. I also find some of your other points interesting; not many people seemed to like how you can't actually "control" the people. I also thought if I do a game like this again I should have the characters walk around and have ambient actions.

Anyways, glad you enjoyed it! Regarding the secret medals, I may have made them a bit...too hard to unlock.


linkoleklinkolek

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 15, 2013

cool game. little girl was the best ( trough I wanted her to be mad murderer (I'm screwed up by games like that)). I wonder why i couldn't get trough doors as spirit and what that paper in lobby is for.



Falconman1998Falconman1998

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

very nice game. good graphics, music, not to mention the plot. I feel like the game maybe should have had more sound effects, but that might just be me. all in all, a very fun game.

also, to the two below me, the game does load, it was just you two.



elithedecoyelithedecoy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

lolz its so fun :D