Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


LinkTheChainLinkTheChain

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2013

Awesome game! Love when I find an original platform on here.

I just have two questions:

**SPOILER** **SPOILER** **SPOILER** **SPOILER**
So, at the end when you find out that Cricket is the business partner, and Lucille is the undercover cop, that means that there is still a serial killer on the loose, right? And if we listen to the dialogue, it's Ted that's the killer (due to what Lucille and the little girl say to him). I was wondering if I understood that right.

Also, I can't get "The End" metal. I played where I talked to everyone, AS everyone, and one where I skipped all the background, and just played the game. Both times Cricket gets arrested instead of killing Lucille.

**END OF SPOILER**

In any case, again, great game, and I hope to see a sequel, or at least, more games from you!



zXSasukeXzzXSasukeXz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 15, 2013

The Only Question Who is THE KILLER


People find this review helpful!

drfromglffreydrfromglffrey

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Cool game. Difficult but not to hard. I was very surprised by the ending didn't expect what happened. I'll give a small hint as to who the murderer is. It is who you would least expect it to be.


People find this review helpful!

hamadesiatohamadesiato

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

Predictable, but still much grater than any uninspired on-the-rails fps taking no decisions crap, or the great read my face right cause you can't got wrong LA NOIR shit. My opinion? Do another one, but go deeper on both history and game play... well, great game anyway.


People find this review helpful!

SarnacSarnac

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

That is certainly a fantastic experience to be had. It's incredible how each character reacts differently to each other, how different people could bring out different answers in different ways, the characterization in this game is completely sublime! The plot is gripping, I found myself wondering more and more what the hell could be happening, I started creating conspiracies in my head, and then that twist at the end! Absolutely wonderful from start to finish.
The screens do glitch from time to time when transitioning from the lobby to the hall, that was a little distracting at times


People find this review helpful!