Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


bosch28bosch28

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

It won't even load plz fix.And just to be nice 4.5 stars


People find this review helpful!

madibsmadibs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

nice


People find this review helpful!

D0GGIED0GGIE

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

Epic. It is one of the best games i gave played on Newgrounds in a while. Very complex must of taken you a while.



Ice-CraneIce-Crane

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 1, 2012

I'm basing this on the playthrough and the ending I got: I quite enjoyed the game. For some reason throughout the game, I constantly had this dreadful feeling that something was going to pop out or that a killer was watching my progress in the game. I think that stemmed from the sounds within the game. I was actually pretty scared when certain someone asked me to come to a certain place alone...
It was interesting to see the characters being revealed through different perspectives.
I personally found that as a mystery solving game, there weren't enough dialogues to provide adequate information. By this, I mean like I became suspicious of this one character from the start (who was eventually revealed to be the killer) due to the lack of information and also became suspicious of Cricket. Maybe I missed it, but throughout the playthrough I was wondering who he was.
Being the ghost was interesting although I don't think it served any purpose other than to start off the plot and to allow players to control characters. The ghost himself seemed to have no real influence on the possessed characters. I personally would have loved to move objects around or listen in on dialogues between characters as an invisible entity and gather clues from that state.
Overall, the game was pretty good. I like how quickly the story progressed and how the ending was quite unexpected.


People find this review helpful!

taysf111taysf111

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 20, 2012

This game work for my google chrome, but alittle too hard for my brain to function properly X3