Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


santana4891santana4891

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 13, 2013

Great game, took me about an hour just because I didn't know what to do. Got the secret medals first then replayed for "The End" medal which took me 16 minutes. The game is short but it was interesting and well made.



NikosteinNikostein

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 7, 2013

A great game with a nice ending. The guy on the toilet and Orvall were the funniest parts but I have one concern: MEDALS DON'T WORK. Please fix this bug for the sake of humanity. Thank you for your time.



TrueWarrior21TrueWarrior21

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 7, 2013

Amazing AND has a twisted ending. I must say, this is the greatest mystery game I have played as of yet. 5/5 For damn sure.


People find this review helpful!

szxszx

Rated 4 / 5 stars May 2, 2013

I like the atmosphere of this game, but there's major flaw - humans possessed by the owner don't exhibit the traits of his character - shouldn't ghost don't allow... *gunshot*



SolidnySolidny

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 1, 2013

Murder mystery! Really excellent implementation of dialogue puzzles, or rather dialogue scheme. It was slow at times, having everyone to talk with everyone, but the flow was seamless. It didn't feel like solving puzzles 1#, 2# and 3#. Instead, we were slowly uncovering truth by asking the right people... in the skin of right people. Ending was bizarre. Nice twist, but honestly, I didn't entirely get it, even the second time. Probably because it wasn't answering all the question, at least not directly. I hope it'll become more clear in the sequel. Great job. Oh, and the atmosphere, with the music and the storm in the background was really creepy. Felt like Agatha Christie novel.


People find this review helpful!