Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


SolidnySolidny

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 1, 2013

Murder mystery! Really excellent implementation of dialogue puzzles, or rather dialogue scheme. It was slow at times, having everyone to talk with everyone, but the flow was seamless. It didn't feel like solving puzzles 1#, 2# and 3#. Instead, we were slowly uncovering truth by asking the right people... in the skin of right people. Ending was bizarre. Nice twist, but honestly, I didn't entirely get it, even the second time. Probably because it wasn't answering all the question, at least not directly. I hope it'll become more clear in the sequel. Great job. Oh, and the atmosphere, with the music and the storm in the background was really creepy. Felt like Agatha Christie novel.


People find this review helpful!

madmaninabox413madmaninabox413

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 30, 2013

Wonderful game! Definitely my favorite on the site! I had a blast going around and talking to characters I very quickly fell in love with!



Fear57Fear57

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 28, 2013

Great! Been a while since I've came across something this beautifully written. It's interesting and very story driven with some humor. It does take a little bit to do though if you want all the medals so to save you time, I'll tell you what Sarah knows. She saw- *sudden struggling as glass shatters followed by a scream*



charlesguidotticharlesguidotti

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 24, 2013

GREAT GAMEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAHHAHAHAAAHAHA. Yeah really , it's a great game :P.



android1999android1999

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 2, 2013

what a twist ending! it turns out that!-- *gunshot*


People find this review helpful!