Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


CMS2000CMS2000

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Got stuck in a wall right near the end of the game talking to the killer DX<


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Oh no, that's the worst! If you have the time, could you PM the details of how it happened? I'll try to fix it as soon as I can. Thanks!


kinupsikinupsi

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

love detetective game, very good representation, but unfortunately using chrome and 64bit W7 i stuck first with grandma character at the place where lobby meets the apartements, pressing c stil functioned but, when i tried 2 move orvall and ted there - same problem, stucked there too. so i u had 2 reload. but i like the idea.


People find this review helpful!

madibsmadibs

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

nice


People find this review helpful!

ruerue244ruerue244

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 16, 2012

Pretty difficult, but that's probably my shit gameplay skills. nothing too interesting. but i like how you can be other people. and if you pay attention, they keep saying that the owner was murdered, and there's no other dead people in the hotel, so you play as the owner. and this reveiw is lenghty and ponitless. i shall end it now.



FlashGamerLeagueFlashGamerLeague

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 16, 2012

Interesting game, very good job on the visuals of it. The controls are reasonable, and the idea of taking over bodies is absolutely amazing. Bravo, this game deserves to be upgraded by some major corporation.


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Wow, thanks a ton! I'm flattered.