Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


SirorezkaSirorezka

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

The idea is well, but the controls aren't as better as the plot. Somehow I got stuck in the other character and wasn't been able to move.



greeneggs4spamgreeneggs4spam

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Good game, but I'm stuck.

After the point the guy tells you about your daughter and tells you to talk to the blonde I can't figure out what to do. I talk to her and she says if you were 20 years older maybe, and she does tell a little to the old lady. But after that I talked to every person with every person and used every dialog option, but can't advance.

Any walkthrough or hints from anybody?


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Some parts of the game aren't very intuitive unfortunately. I'll work on making a walkthrough.


zgamer49zgamer49

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Wow, that was a truly refreshing game. Great game concept, and it is executed relatively well throughout the game. Although it can be a little frustrating at times, that's part of solving the crime :P. Awesome ending as well. I hope to see more games from you in the future.


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.


IloveserinaIloveserina

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

i like this game but.. i possed like everyone in this game and talked to everyone but i'm so lost right now i dont even know what to do next .-. help


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

I agree, unfortunately I think some parts of it aren't very intuitive. My bad! I'll work on making a walkthrough.


RagekajeRagekaje

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Not sure if I'm having technical issues or I'm just stupid, but I am not able to confront the killer.


People find this review helpful!