Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


snd777snd777

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

a really good game the ending caught me off guard. just wondering does this game have multiple endings


People find this review helpful!

paras123paras123

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

its cool dude Interesting game, very good job on the visuals of it. The controls are reasonable, and the idea of taking over bodies is absolutely amazing. Bravo, this game deserves to be upgraded by some major corporation love detetective game, very good representation truly refreshing game Awesome ending as well. I hope to see more games from you in the future 5 stars all the way!

-------------------------------------
-------------------------------------
------
.

-------------------------------------
-------------------------------------
------


People find this review helpful!

SpaceDazeeSpaceDazee

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

It was great, until I get to meet with a certain someone where the owner was killed. I went in with Cricket and the screen goes black on me except for the door. I hit space and I'm the spirtish person, I can move around, but only through an entire black screen. I don't know if I'll finish it, I don't want to run around and talk to everyone again since I have to start all over. A save point option would have been nice.


People find this review helpful!

guimigliguimigli

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

Good, very good.


People find this review helpful!

DreadMoreDreadMore

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

The game involves alot of converstation and a bit of running around. All mixed up in a puddle of dramatic crime scene involving the use of the dead man's spirit. I played and finish the game, but some of the other characters stories add a sense that this game consists of a hidden ending, which I could yet not deduce... or is it just me?


People find this review helpful!