Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


xAyjAyxAyjAy

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

good game. please make more games where i can possess and controll others.

talk with everyone as everyone and do not forget to re-talk with the people who do not have an alibi. also, possess them too and talk with everyone to get your answers.


People find this review helpful!

Yael123Yael123

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

That final...man...i didnt see that comming..


People find this review helpful!

RuneknRunekn

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

This game is pretty fun. Trying to solve the mystery, and finding various things about the characters in the hotel.

The dialogue is plentiful, considering everyone has something to say to each other, plot-important or not. While you could just try and focus just talking with the suspects, it's fun to see how everyone talks to each other (Everyone is creeped out by the Exhibitionist, the kid mostly likes to annoy people, etc) although you don't get to learn particularly much besides a few characters.

The background sounds, which is just one "song" at the scene of the crime, and the storm outside of the room (and the hotel) does provide a suspenseful atmosphere. The sound the game makes when you enter another area also does so, but it can be a bit irritating when you're going back and forth quickly.

I liked the Earthbound-esque graphics, but there's nothing much to say about that.

The twist at the end is a bit surprising, although the reason for the entire crime felt kinda unexpected. I kinda thought there'll be a alternate ending, although I guess the entire point was just finding how you died.

Speaking of that, I kinda thought there'll be slightly more with the whole ghost thing, but it felt more like just nudging people to talk to others.

As for anyone stuck on this game, like I said, it's actually pretty short. You just need to figure out who didn't have a alibi, and have them talk to Cricket (although you need to figure out how to make them confess first), and talk to the last person who didn't have one/no one to make them talk.


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Thanks for the detailed feedback! I'll go into my next project with some of the things you mentioned in mind.


SupaserrinSupaserrin

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

This game is definitely one of the best things i have ever seen on Newgrounds.
The ending was... simply, amazing.
But the game can bee a little complicated, so here are some tips:
- You must speak to EVERY person in the hotel with EVERY person. Posses everyone and talk to everyone.
- If you do that, but become stuck, know this:

WARNING: SPOILER ALERT

- Iblis the girl, and Randy, the manager, must talk to each other. Then, you will unlock an extra option for Randy.
- Controlling Randy, speak to Cricket, and he will tell him the truth about his relationship with the owner.
- Next, (when you discover that Morgan was with the owner), control the old granny, Rose, and talk with Morgan, the mother of Iblis. Another extra option will be added for Morgan.
- Speak to Cricket with Morgan, and then Cricket will be allowed to make some questions to her.

If you do all those things, AND check your alibi with Ted, so he can tell Cricket all he know about the people in the hotel, go talk to Lucille with Cricket, and you will uncover the truth.


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Thank you, I'm quite flattered. Glad you enjoyed it so much! :)


PluviaPluvia

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

I didn't finish the game yet. I thought it was absolutely awesome but then I accidentally clicked the "Back to main menu"-button and I got thrown back at the beginning of the game. No fucking way I'm playing this again right now.
The game can be as awesome as it is but without a save function of any kind, I just can't fully love it.


People find this review helpful!