Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


JhericFuryJhericFury

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

Damn good game. Love the core gameplay thing of needing different people to get different answers. Simple but with potential.
Also, to MrTheJazz below me (kind of spoilers): Yeah, that wasn't an alternate ending, the cop mentions that they thought there was a serial killer at the hotel, he just wasn't the one who killed the owner, you're just meant to figure that out, but it's not key to the story.
It's probably also why when possessing Ted you can ask the her out, possibly he was figuring out how to get rid of her. A nice little background story going on.


People find this review helpful!

MrTheJazzMrTheJazz

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

I loved this game, but it drove me nuts. I could have sworn there was an alternate ending involving Ted being a serial killer, but for all my searching I couldn't figure it out (if there was in fact one).

I won't spoil anything, but you get a few potential clues during the first ending, plus the conversation Ted and the little girl have, as well as the conversation Ted has with Lucille. It just makes me very suspicious that he is a serial killer, but I couldn't figure it out if that was an alternative ending/easter egg or if it's just a red herring.

Please author, if there is a secret ending, let me know.


People find this review helpful!

JesicaPMJesicaPM

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

I loved it! Fun game, great dialogue.


People find this review helpful!

JaedydAutumn78JaedydAutumn78

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

Love the concept of this game, very original taking over different characters, love the retro feel with the pixel characters and the surprise ending was the cream on top, I loved it!! Please do more games like this, big 5 stars =)


People find this review helpful!

cxjiekcxjiek

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

Not bad Not bad. It is a good game, I had to look at the walk through in the end. But the whole journey was cool.


People find this review helpful!