Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


nagini77nagini77

Rated 1 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Hello, just to let you know the title caught my attention and about the game sounded really interesting, but just one problem........................ it is not loading................. :(
I do not know why......(perhaps is it because mine is windows 8?) and it seems there are others with the same problems.... I would love to know why or even better if you can fix the problem.
thank you.



bustercarbustercar

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I really liked the game until the end. the ending was abrupt and cheesy.



ShhshhaShhshha

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Not just those two, wont load for me either



Falconman1998Falconman1998

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

very nice game. good graphics, music, not to mention the plot. I feel like the game maybe should have had more sound effects, but that might just be me. all in all, a very fun game.

also, to the two below me, the game does load, it was just you two.



ZeokunarazZeokunaraz

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Its not only you Reaper10. It won't load for some reason or another. Please, fix this!


People find this review helpful!