Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


retroarcademonkeyretroarcademonkey

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I absolutely love this game, the combination of pixel and mystery is a definite plus. Though i really wish you could do more as the ghost, like scare the living piss out of someone by manipluating technology. I also wish you had choices throughout the game like, choosing if you want to kill this guy or not. But i had alot of fun playing this game, and that is all that matters in this review.

So overall this game gets a 4/5



nightmareFetishistnightmareFetishist

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Interesting. Well, it was playable, at least. The plot was okay, the art style is cute (I do really like pixel based games), the soundtrack was cool and gave a way more mysterious atmosphere to the game, the puzzles were all right, the game play was well made and the plot twist at the end was the game's "sauce", what did make it better. Overall, I would give it a 4/5, but that old lady annoyed me so much I couldn't give this rating anymore. God damn it, living with this lady would be more terrible than living in Hell!
PS: I don't know what is the problem with the loading, guys. My computer is very old and slow but it loaded perfectly (the game bugged a little though). Try refreshing the page or playing in another website (people on internet love posting already existing NG games on their own game sites). Hope you guys can also play it as soon as possible.



Solarice04Solarice04

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Short, sweet, and with a pretty good twist ending. Good job!



TheBloodbunnyTheBloodbunny

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

The sound was good, the art was pixel-y, and the controls were alright, and the game seem well made overall.

The plot... Eh. I mean, the ending was OK, but I was expecting a bigger, badder twist. So the end was a bit meh for me. I really wish that it was required to jump between more of the characters to beat the game-- you had a lot of good stuff there and obviously thought out the way these characters react with one another, so why not take advantage of that? From what I can remember, it would appear that one only need use 3, maybe 4 of the characters to beat the game. It would've been nice to only rarely have a totally useless interaction.



deathurdeathur

Rated 0 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Mine is even better than not loading... Mine loaded... but it just wont start when i press play.