Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


SuperBunnyBobSuperBunnyBob

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I knew the killer the whole time!



NimbusCloudNimbusCloud

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I had a lot of fun with this one. I loved the style, I loved the concept, and the dialog was pretty funny too. I got stuck for a while, but it was entertaining enough just possessing everyone and having them talk to each other. The little girl was my favorite, but the old lady was funny too.

I wasn't expecting the ending either, the clues seemed to point to somebody else, and I was pleasantly surprised at the end, though I was a little disappointed that there wasn't more game. My only complaint is that it wasn't very long, but that's pretty minor. I just hope your next one is longer!


People find this review helpful!

dubesordubesor

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

the concept is pretty cool, the game plays good but the ending is just stupid imho



LonelyLelouchLonelyLelouch

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

SPOILER ALLERT. Brilliant idea,fun to play and all,I really liked it. However,I'd like to point out that the "clues" can be a little ellusive. I was almost sure throughout the game that Ted was the killer,because of quite a few dialogues that pointed at that direction.


People find this review helpful!

retroarcademonkeyretroarcademonkey

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I absolutely love this game, the combination of pixel and mystery is a definite plus. Though i really wish you could do more as the ghost, like scare the living piss out of someone by manipluating technology. I also wish you had choices throughout the game like, choosing if you want to kill this guy or not. But i had alot of fun playing this game, and that is all that matters in this review.

So overall this game gets a 4/5