Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


MonefMonef

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

The very end didn't surprised me much... The hints point to it...
But still, the end (not the end's end) was a mystery.

Nice job, though.


People find this review helpful!

regularguy007regularguy007

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

awesome story and twist. sorta saw it comin though


People find this review helpful!

labsmith78labsmith78

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

Can't rate it does not load up eedstob fix


People find this review helpful!

sonny0123456sonny0123456

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

(SPOILER ALERT)
The game had a great gimmick and all but, honestly i started suspecting cricket the momment i first switched out to someone ele and talked to him, after all, he and everyone else did not act acording to your actions, so u werent really possesing him, more like u were watching him, he was looking for info cuz he "wanted to", meh i was relly hoping the game would have hidden ending...


People find this review helpful!

bosch28bosch28

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

It won't even load plz fix.And just to be nice 4.5 stars


People find this review helpful!