Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


KymnarkmarKymnarkmar

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

The game was excellent - the idea of body-switching was a great premise.

The main exercise of the game - checking alibis - was a good mystery, but you could have made it clearer, such as placing a list of suspects in the pause menu and letting the player see as alibis were established (the Detective Grimoire mystery on Newgrounds did that well). Otherwise, it's not always so clear that an alibi is established, and that makes the game confusing.


People find this review helpful!

jay-tjay-t

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

I loved how you could make the little girl pick on the guy in the toilet, good job on that. I thought some sounds and music was too powerful for this kinda game though. Like when you walked through door, that loud bass line was a bit too much, the music in the deceased room also that way. I enjoyed it though


People find this review helpful!

MonefMonef

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

The very end didn't surprised me much... The hints point to it...
But still, the end (not the end's end) was a mystery.

Nice job, though.


People find this review helpful!

regularguy007regularguy007

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

awesome story and twist. sorta saw it comin though


People find this review helpful!

labsmith78labsmith78

Rated 3 / 5 stars November 25, 2012

Can't rate it does not load up eedstob fix


People find this review helpful!