Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


RaabRaab

Rated 2 / 5 stars November 26, 2012

After about an hour of trying and re-trying combinations, about an hour into the game, I decided that I was finally stuck an decided to look at a walkthrough.

After getting the dirt on the blonde using the old lady, I am supposed to question the blonde with Cricket, (as i have done many many many times at this point) so find out "something big" then go talk to Lucille as Cricket. The walkthrough states that I should accuse Lucille of murder at this point and then end the game in the room where you began.

Lucille's dialogue simply will not trigger.
I have literally done everything in the walkthrough over again just to make sure... several times. It must be a progression bug.


People find this review helpful!

nuclearstickman5nuclearstickman5

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 26, 2012

It took me a while to figure it out. But I liked this a lot. Very good job on this. The ending was awesome, and I was actually surprised by the ending. I enjoyed the pixel style graphics as well.


People find this review helpful!

leonardodleonardod

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2012

Really great game... but I really don't know why someone who's a ghost would control people to investigates his own death, I mean... he was there, he was the center of everything, he already knew who did it and why... But it's incredibly awesome in the same way!!!


People find this review helpful!

AdelioNightstormAdelioNightstorm

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 26, 2012

It's a great game! I dunno if it's just with me, but the medal system didn't seem to work. Just completed the game, and I didn't get a single medal - which, by definition, should be impossible. I should at the very least have received the 'This Body Will Do For Now' medal. What gives?


People find this review helpful!

darc2209darc2209

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 26, 2012

wow shocking ending


People find this review helpful!