Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


applewhite3applewhite3

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

Really enjoyed this, but I couldn't finish because I kept getting characters stuck in the hallway. I had to watch a YouTube video to see the ending. Fix that, and this goes from a 3.5 to a 5.


People find this review helpful!

RemolayRemolay

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

Nice mystery, really didn't see the ending coming. Great twist.


People find this review helpful!

ErichoEricho

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

I was pretty confused by this game. It was mostly just you going around asking random questions. I'm sorry, but I'm just not the kind of gamer who's into that sort of thing. I will say that it did have a pretty creative premise. I do have no idea what's going on. I know I've played a game like this before, but this isn't a sequel to that, at least given the title.

None of the medals showed up on screen, but I guess they didn't need to. There are definitley many things going on that leave you guessing. Shouldn't there be a question mark in the name? Eh, that's the least confusing of these games. The graphics are pretty good and remind me of "Earthbound".


People find this review helpful!

ChaoDollChaoDoll

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

1.A little girls name is Iblis... as in 06 Iblis?

2. little girl go why?

3.That man is takig a very long dump.

4.sara was right? Gives away alot doesnt it?

AWESOME!... but hard to tell who.



angelbluedvlangelbluedvl

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 29, 2012

Good game, didnt deal with any bugs, I have no idea what the secret medals are so far


People find this review helpful!