Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


KnifeyWifeyKnifeyWifey

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 14, 2013

This is fantastic. The plot is deep and complex. The characters, too, have their own unique (and strange) personalities and backgrounds.
It's interesting that depending on who you're possessing, you not only assume a new personality but the people you're talking to respond differently too. It's a weird feeling to use this as a way to get new information.
Both endings are so... satisfying. I have absolutely no complaints. 5 stars.


People find this review helpful!

kittykat25909kittykat25909

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 9, 2013

dat ending OoO damn!!!



Lanv321Lanv321

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 7, 2013

Awesome ^.^ still trying to get the alternate ending though.



KeronianWolfKeronianWolf

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 31, 2013

Really good game, but when I was absolutlely stuck, I wnet on the pause menu and clicked the help me thing, but it didn't do anything for me but restart the page...I love this game but that's my only nitpick and why I rage quit when I got so far and intrested into the story... I love the idea, love the story, love the characters, but fix that help button...



HaradaHarada

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars August 17, 2013

There's a glitch that occurs in the main hallway. When moving between the upper/lower sections, if another character is standing in the spot you move into when you go up or down then their bodies get stuck together and neither of them can move.


People find this review helpful!