Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


ThereIsNoNoobsThereIsNoNoobs

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

This is a very well-done game, and my only complaint is that the ending left too many unsolved mysteries. I feel you could have gone farther into the role/identity of the serial killer, how the little girl knew someone was going to die, etc. Besides that, I loved the story and the unique gameplay. It's cool how controlling someone doesn't mean you can make them say or tell whatever you need. Great job!



HareTrinityHareTrinity

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

Oh, NOW it has medals! Pfft... Well, I've run through again, and talked to everyone as everyone at least once, but my Identity Crisis medal isn't showing, nor either Secret Medal... Oh well, onto the review!

It's a great concept reasonably implemented. I was a little disappointed with the ending, I'd guessed the murderer early on but felt sure it would turn out to be a crime of passion, and I really don't think our detective would be so careless at the end there, not to mention that I was unimpressed by the end twist. There's really no point to a "twist" in a game if it comes after the gameplay has finished, it just made the end scene seem rushed.

Some other points (good and bad):
- I like how we didn't really so much "control" the people as motivate them to move/ask certain things. Subtle!
- The characters had nice variety, and Orvall was a funny touch (though I did feel sorry for him).
- TOO MUCH WALKING! Going all the way from the top left room to the office was hardly exciting gameplay. It was a bit lengthy with the kid, let alone the others... Really you'd have benefited from having the characters move around by themselves somewhat, ESPECIALLY as that would lend itself to a longer plot (e.g. someone disappears, the player slowly gets suspicious, has to try to get the others to notice)
- Suitable graphics
- Great dialogue
- Creepy doll (nice)

In conclusion it's a good game and the concept gives room for a LOT of potential, you should definitely do another like it!


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Thanks for the review! I agree with the point that it isn't good to have a huge plot twist after the gameplay is done, as I did in this case; the narrative and gameplay should taper off simultaneously. I also find some of your other points interesting; not many people seemed to like how you can't actually "control" the people. I also thought if I do a game like this again I should have the characters walk around and have ambient actions.

Anyways, glad you enjoyed it! Regarding the secret medals, I may have made them a bit...too hard to unlock.


DaBronyKillerDaBronyKiller

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

Fun,But it kinda reminded me of the wwaalking dead,or AMY on the xbox,coz of the choices =D.



KoopaConorKoopaConor

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

I loved this game! The dialogue was good enough to keep me going for quite a while, and some of it was actually hilarious to experience (i.e. the conversation between Iblis and Shitter)

I actually made a first-reaction playthrough of this game on YT, and there was never a time when I wasn't fully into the game, which is a real accomplishment.

As others have said, the ending was very unpredictable and caught me off guard. I actually spent another 5 minutes staring at the screen in surprise. Great job all around.


People find this review helpful!

Rexiscool23Rexiscool23

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 1, 2012

Nice game a little hard but you my friend know how to make a mystery game so suspenseful i want a second part you have the makings of a game designer hope you make a better one in the future and nice job. :P