Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


sActivesActive

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 4, 2012

Awesome game, great twists! 5 stars for sure!


People find this review helpful!

ek355ek355

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 3, 2012

Just wow. Creative,original,intresting..what else can I say about this? This kind of games makes newgrounds special and that's why I keep coming back to this site. I would give more stars if I could,anyway keep it up! :D



scrubmachinescrubmachine

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 3, 2012

The game is well made, not perfect though..
Pros:
>Great character personalities ahem...Orvall..ahem
>A very creative game

Cons:
>None of them acts like the owner when they're possessed, instead, you act like that character
>Medals doesn't work ;A ;

Overall a great game! :3


People find this review helpful!

MiSSyDMiSSyD

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

lol you couldn't tell me it wasn't ted. i still think ted is the serial killer though crickett threw me for a loop. btw LUCILLE KICKS ASS!!



NinelivesNinelives

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 2, 2012

The characters are varied and rich. Each of them have their own levels or curiousity and motivations.

And the music creates a suspenseful, haunting mood. Like something is about to jump on me, so it keeps me on my toes and just little bit scared.

The only thing I have against it is basically the same thing as other reviewers are saying. The premise was to investigate your death as the ghost, but the ghost itself contributes nothing, like it doesn't have a sense of self. It would make more sense if it said that the ghost was following other people instead of "possessing" them. At the end, there was no response at all from the murdered spirit.


People find this review helpful!