Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


FireyTalk99FireyTalk99

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 4, 2014

(Spoiler alert!!!!) HOW IS THE DETECTIVE THE MURDERER? O_O



whatever21456789whatever21456789

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 18, 2013

how do you pass the game?



XXeDAXXeDA

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 16, 2013

Funny thing, I actually got the secret ending on my FIRST playthrough, so I was an itty-bit confused at first. Heheh... I'm not gonna spoil how to get it, but remember to talk to EVERYBODY as EVERYONE.

I love the art style; it reminds me of Earthbound/Mother 2, one of my favourite games, and that makes me very happy. Oddly enough, the retro-ish graphics add to the atmosphere in the fact that we're playing in a remote, retro hotel - I dunno how to describe it... it just... works.

Each character ha a different walking speed and it really immersed me. I felt like I WAS those people, and I got a good idea of who they were without even needing to talk to them.

The killer, for me, was somewhat predictable, but to be honest I have an extremely different thought pattern than other people. The actual motive was interesting though.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SPOLIERS BELOW THIS LINE, FRIENDS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did, however, figure out Cricket's part in this rather quickly. :/ which isn't TOO big a problem, but it still bugged me. Again, I'm very different inmy ways of thinking, so it may just be me.

Since - unless I was dumb (not an uncommon occurrence) and missed something - we never find out who the serial killer is, I'm interested... but I have an idea of who it is, kind of... I got a couple of suspects. Meh.

I'm not gonna request a sequel or anything, but I guess it'd be cool to know who it is. Unless, again, I was just dumb.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SPOILERS ARE DONE, FRIENDS! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry for the spoiler wall. I really, really don't wanna spoil people, but this IS a review, so I need to cover the ending, too.



ChocolathhChocolathh

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 3, 2013

Good Game :D



cocokyle9cocokyle9

Rated 3 / 5 stars October 27, 2013

how did he die