Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


BlueghostsBlueghosts

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 18, 2012

You could improve on the sound part. Awesome game though:D But no I don't like it...... I doubt I can do any better. Well not at the moment. Good for you:D


People find this review helpful!

LoadfusLoadfus

Rated 4 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

I enjoyed that, although limiting surroundings - so I give a 4/5. Good effort, though!


People find this review helpful!

justin99000justin99000

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 16, 2012

is it bad that i saw that comming? i wont reveal anything because its a nice twist i guess but the "killer" went about this all wrong in "the end" it was bluntly obvoius what was comming next because with such few cast and very likely characters there was really only a few people snooping, and for what? thats the obvoius part No one in there right mind thinks .... ima play detective in a shitty hotel during a storm with no cops unless one had other reasons to be doing so. or he just really likes to be foolish and pretend he is on csi who knows just saying


People find this review helpful!

Stormpuff93Stormpuff93

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 15, 2012

OMG the ending... wow totally did not see that coming at all


People find this review helpful!

kurusakiumekurusakiume

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 15, 2012

im scared of using the girl


People find this review helpful!