Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


LinkTheChainLinkTheChain

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2013

Awesome game! Love when I find an original platform on here.

I just have two questions:

**SPOILER** **SPOILER** **SPOILER** **SPOILER**
So, at the end when you find out that Cricket is the business partner, and Lucille is the undercover cop, that means that there is still a serial killer on the loose, right? And if we listen to the dialogue, it's Ted that's the killer (due to what Lucille and the little girl say to him). I was wondering if I understood that right.

Also, I can't get "The End" metal. I played where I talked to everyone, AS everyone, and one where I skipped all the background, and just played the game. Both times Cricket gets arrested instead of killing Lucille.

**END OF SPOILER**

In any case, again, great game, and I hope to see a sequel, or at least, more games from you!



MsMysteriiMsMysterii

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 3, 2013

I haven't written a review in a long time, but this game really deserves it, so here comes a long one.

First of all, I rarely get pulled into a game long enough to finish it, but this one I had to pursue until the end. The atmosphere was really great, and even with 8-bit character models I really felt they had a strong sense of personality and each one was very unique. Jumping around among the characters to dig around and discover the truth was a fantastic approach, and I really enjoyed how the people still kept their personalities and had unique dialogue choices among the different pairings. The music was unoffensive and added a great eerie feel, which I absolutely loved.
It was a bit of a longer game than I had expected, but I didn't get bored with it. My husband was even curious enough to pause Saint's Row 3 and come watch over my shoulder, and we enjoyed bouncing around ideas as to who the killer was. While we were right, the ending had a GREAT twist that neither of us saw coming. We were honestly puzzled for a short while, which is rare for us, since we love murder mysteries, but it's hard to find good ones with a unique story...but this game blew our minds.

I would have enjoyed being able to do a bit more with the spectral form, but it's certainly not a complaint. The game was great fun, and I'm sure to share it with some friends. I don't normally rate things with full 5's, but this definitely deserves it. Keep up the amazing work!


People find this review helpful!
PeltastDesign responds:

Hey, sorry for the extremely late response. Thanks so much for your review! It really means a lot to me. And getting someone to pause Saint's Row 3 -- that's not easy! :D

And I definitely want to have the ghost play a more active role in the next round.


FireworkFirework

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 2, 2013

Strange death. :))


People find this review helpful!

NinjoNS1000NinjoNS1000

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 1, 2013

who exactly is the killer??? i found two suspicous guys lucille and cricket and i dont know how to get the truth outta them...


People find this review helpful!

jonnyk988jonnyk988

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 27, 2013

Knew it :) medals weren't working either.


People find this review helpful!