Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 16, 2012 | 5:01 PM EST
  • Daily Feature November 18, 2012
  • Weekly 5th Place November 21, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Medals

Log in to save your medals! Don't have an account? Create one for free!

Baby Steps, Young Cricket 5 Points Dying can be a very disorienting experience. Good thing there's a tutorial conversation!
This Body Will Do For Now 5 Points Find your first host and possess it.
I'm Surrounded By Idiots 10 Points Talk to every person in the hotel at least once, as anyone.
Identity Crisis 10 Points Possess everyone in the hotel at least once. Except for the guy on the toilet, he doesn't count.
Means and Motive 25 Points Narrow the list of suspects down to one. The end is near!
Well, That Went Nowhere 25 Points Talk to everyone in the hotel as Orvall.
The End 50 Points Sarah was right
The Real Detective in the Building Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!
The Beginning Secret Medal: Unlock this medal to view its details!

Author Comments

Why Am I Dead is a retro-style mystery game. You've recently been killed. Play as your disembodied ghost, take over control of other people in the hotel and investigate your own murder.

Use WASD to move around the hotel, press the space bar or Z to possess or de-possess people. Press E to open doors and interact with people. Use the arrow keys or W and S to select an answer if there are multiple options during a conversation.

UPDATE: 11/28 7:40 AM EST

Hey guys! Actually I've made updates to my game prior to today, but haven't edited the description. Fixed some bugs, including the problems Internet Explorer had with the preloader. Yay! I also implemented medals.

...And I also added some extra content! I had originally cut a lot of stuff out of the game, thinking no one would find it or care anyway. But the feedback I've gotten here motivated me to put some more work into the game, even if it's just a little. I want to give a huge, warm THANK YOU to everyone for your time and attention. :D

UPDATE: 11/18 7:25 PM EST
New version adds a link to a walkthrough in the pause menu, and fixes the unintentionally sadistic placement of the "Return to Main Menu" button.

Thanks to everyone for all of your feedback! I truly appreciate it. This is a really hectic weekend for me, so I've been struggling to react to your feedback as quickly as I'd like to. Thank you for your patience and support.

UPDATE: 11/17 7:30 PM EST
Uploaded a new version which fixes a bug with Morgan's dialogue and prevents the problem that some of you had with the final part of the game.

Reviews


The-Great-OneThe-Great-One

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 1, 2013

This was an awesome game. First off the presentation is just beautiful, from the look of the hotel, to the different characters. It was also a nice touch that each character moves differently depending on their given character. I also liked the different endings, although the one involving Cricket wasn't exactly explained well enough until you got Lucille's ending, but they were both still pretty awesome. The gameplay I liked the idea of possessing different people to learn information. The controls were simple and easy to understand, there were also alternate controls for other people, which is always a nice touch. The story though is simply amazing and it compliments the gameplay very well. The music and sound effects were amazing as well, I loved hearing the storm outside the hotel. All in all this was absolutely perfect in every way!

|| Cheers ||
*Masterful Presentation
*Masterful Sound
*Masterful Music
*Masterful Controls
*Masterful Gameplay
*Masterful Concept
*Masterful Story
*Perfect Score

|| Jeers ||
(none)


People find this review helpful!

KairosKairos

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 21, 2013

Wow, cool game.
Earthboundy graphics too! :D


People find this review helpful!

blueheartphoenixblueheartphoenix

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 21, 2013

Very interesting game, especially the plot: I explored every conversation option so I could get more backstory. Iblis interested me the most; I would totally play a game revolving around her and her possible psychic/intuitive abilities!
I know I had a hard time finding the secret medals, so here is a non-spoiler small hint for those who are trying to find them: Think you've got all your info and know who the suspect is? Possess that suspect and explore some more even if you already did; you might find a new option!


People find this review helpful!

CampererCamperer

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 15, 2013

Hell yeah completed the game :).
Uhhh but how do i unlock the "The End" medal? i even got the secret medals on the first playthrough but what about that one? Any hints?
Anyways awesome work with this game.



ytiuop01ytiuop01

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 9, 2013

loved it


People find this review helpful!