Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 13, 2012 | 5:14 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 14, 2012
  • Daily Feature November 14, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Nyan Cat
    Nyan Cat For all your cat pastry needs.

Author Comments

Although I am fully aware that the Nyan Cat meme is about as old as Betty White in internet years, this ridiculous little two-week project was still a lot of fun, and was mainly for the purpose of determining how well I could pull off a wide range of musical styles in Logic. In a perfect world, this project would have been twice as long, but some genres are deceptively tough to reproduce with only a laptop at my disposal. In loving memory of Nyan Cat.

WARNING: There is a brief section about a minute in that makes use of a strobe effect. If you know you suffer from epilepsy, you may want to steer clear.

Reviews


CaylamariCaylamari

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

This was excellent! Loved the pixel art and everything about this. The music was merged seamlessly. One thing I'd have to critique, though, is the lack of a real ending. The beginning segment made me think the Nyan Cat was dreaming all of this (super cute!), but then it ended with Nyan Cat coming to invade Earth? This may be me just drawing parallels where there are none, but it left me wanting for a resolution to the story.

P.S. to the people who think this didn't take all that long and are therefore downvoting it, please proceed to make something of this quality and show him up in way less time than I know it took. Art in all forms takes time, don't try and make it seem like it doesn't take a lot of time or effort. That's just envious in the worst way.


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

Agreed on all counts. I apologize for the lack of an ending, but I never really intended this to be such an involved project. Originally I wanted the UFO cat to segue into the original Nyan Cat in space with the original music, but I figured that would be too close to plagiarism (the line between homage and theft is a blurry one). Thanks for your feedback!


weallfailweallfail

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 21, 2012

All of these are expertly done, my favorite being the German Oktoberfesting Nyan Cat Oompah song. They all deserve a 10 hour loop on youtube. If you have anytime down the road I would love to see the rest of the genre's you were trying to do.

Enthusiastic 5/5 Stars!


People find this review helpful!

DJTheFreemanDJTheFreeman

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 16, 2012

These people say it's cute. I say it's the most amazing thing ever. Props for starwars and metalocalypse. I was happy for the disco floor one, but i wish you would have done a hard techno one like hardstlye genre.



Jewels-the-cattJewels-the-catt

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 10, 2013

That was the best thing ever!



Scud123456789Scud123456789

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 14, 2012

so is this what cats do all day when their owners are at work/school o.O


People find this review helpful!