Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 13, 2012 | 5:14 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 14, 2012
  • Daily Feature November 14, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Nyan Cat
    Nyan Cat For all your cat pastry needs.

Author Comments

Although I am fully aware that the Nyan Cat meme is about as old as Betty White in internet years, this ridiculous little two-week project was still a lot of fun, and was mainly for the purpose of determining how well I could pull off a wide range of musical styles in Logic. In a perfect world, this project would have been twice as long, but some genres are deceptively tough to reproduce with only a laptop at my disposal. In loving memory of Nyan Cat.

WARNING: There is a brief section about a minute in that makes use of a strobe effect. If you know you suffer from epilepsy, you may want to steer clear.

Reviews


sasuke500sasuke500

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2012

Rockin' Cats!!! That is all...


People find this review helpful!

JohnOfDoomJohnOfDoom

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

Artistically cohesive, well planned, filled with subtle nods-and nuance. This is a culmination of this meme. Well executed.



EggyslavEggyslav

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

That's so awesome! Maybe a sequel? I have many Ideas:

Baroque Nyan: Music is played on harpsichord, Nyan Cat in a powdered wig and justeaucorps strolls through an elegant 17th century palace.

Military Nyan: Nyan cat wearing army uniform, riding a tank, music has a march feel to it.

Oriental Nyan: Nyan cat in kimono and straw hat, walking through far-eastern landscape, rice paddies, pagodas, Great Wall of China, etc.

Spooky nyan: Music is rather creepy, Nyan cat as a ghost walks in a haunted house.

Pirate Nyan: Music played with harmonica, Nyan Cat wears a Bandana, peg-leg and eye-patch, and is steering a ship, while drinking rum.

Scottish Nyan: Nyan cat in kilt, music played on bagpipes.

Reggae/Rasta Nyan: Self-Explanatory... :P


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

All good suggestions. If I can come up with enough viable new genres, I may do a sequel. The big problem I had this time around was that most genres don't fit the tempo of the original song, so I had to scrap a lot of potentially fun ideas.

Also, I tried a baroque version! It sounded terrible. I was going for a Brandenburg Concerto sort of thing, but that style of music involves a ton of counterpoint, and the exposed instruments ended up sounding way too fake. I suppose I could try again...


BalloonTwisterBalloonTwister

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2012

A lot of work must have gone into this IMO. Furthermore it's fun to watch !


People find this review helpful!

underc00lunderc00l

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 14, 2012

german one and the mario one r the cooles ones for me


People find this review helpful!