Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 13, 2012 | 5:14 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 14, 2012
  • Daily Feature November 14, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Nyan Cat
    Nyan Cat For all your cat pastry needs.

Author Comments

Although I am fully aware that the Nyan Cat meme is about as old as Betty White in internet years, this ridiculous little two-week project was still a lot of fun, and was mainly for the purpose of determining how well I could pull off a wide range of musical styles in Logic. In a perfect world, this project would have been twice as long, but some genres are deceptively tough to reproduce with only a laptop at my disposal. In loving memory of Nyan Cat.

WARNING: There is a brief section about a minute in that makes use of a strobe effect. If you know you suffer from epilepsy, you may want to steer clear.

Reviews


BeaveraxeBeaveraxe

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

Where did you get the piano nyan cat and the ufo nyan cat?


WoodTick responds:

I'm not sure if this is what you're asking, but the part with the pipe organ isn't any specific genre. It's just a pipe organ. The UFO section is derived from Bernard Herrmann's 1951 "The Day the Earth Stood Still" score.


twewy-gm-christwewy-gm-chris

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

he! great work, woodtick! have you don this all by yourself if i may ask?


WoodTick responds:

Yep. All by my lonesome. I used a lot of modded game sprites, so I was able to cut a lot of corners, though.


lxPUMAxllxPUMAxl

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2012

I've been waiting for something like this for awhile. I thought maybe ending with Mario and having him Jump and hit a box to end the movie wouldve been good instead of just the fade out. Overall though I loved it. Great job.


WoodTick responds:

Jumping would have definitely improved the Mario section. But I was getting pretty lazy at that point. Had I known that so many people would end up watching it, I might have put a few more days into it.


theguylearningARTtheguylearningART

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

I give it a five because not only do I find it to be a brilliant concept of the genre hopping as well as the music changes to be quite excellent. Aside for the quality aspects that I found to be very well done. I would like to see one with another funny topic that has a tune that changes with each genre. As for the fact that "nyan cat" being the topic I refuse to rate it based on my personal preferences of that particular part. It would be similar to giving your lower stars because it was 8-bit art in my opinion. On a more personal note I am thrilled to see the little things from some of the different genre/shows such as Nyan Solo shooting first. Well done definitely deserving of the front page.



djDurgyDurgdjDurgyDurg

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 23, 2012

excellent idea