Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 13, 2012 | 5:14 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 14, 2012
  • Daily Feature November 14, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Nyan Cat
    Nyan Cat For all your cat pastry needs.

Author Comments

Although I am fully aware that the Nyan Cat meme is about as old as Betty White in internet years, this ridiculous little two-week project was still a lot of fun, and was mainly for the purpose of determining how well I could pull off a wide range of musical styles in Logic. In a perfect world, this project would have been twice as long, but some genres are deceptively tough to reproduce with only a laptop at my disposal. In loving memory of Nyan Cat.

WARNING: There is a brief section about a minute in that makes use of a strobe effect. If you know you suffer from epilepsy, you may want to steer clear.

Reviews


MistyEntertainmentMistyEntertainment

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

I must say I was surprised a Nyan Cat flash was on the frontpage, but this did not disappoint. I loved all of the different arrangements of the Nyan Cat theme and the great pixel art that came with it.


People find this review helpful!

CarWreck27CarWreck27

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

man, this was absolutely brilliant and it only took you two weeks??? is there anyway you can upload the audio track to the audio portal? some of those parts were too good not to be in my music folder.


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

Just did about 15 min ago. Should show up there soon. Took just over two weeks. About one for the music and another for the animation.


CaylamariCaylamari

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

This was excellent! Loved the pixel art and everything about this. The music was merged seamlessly. One thing I'd have to critique, though, is the lack of a real ending. The beginning segment made me think the Nyan Cat was dreaming all of this (super cute!), but then it ended with Nyan Cat coming to invade Earth? This may be me just drawing parallels where there are none, but it left me wanting for a resolution to the story.

P.S. to the people who think this didn't take all that long and are therefore downvoting it, please proceed to make something of this quality and show him up in way less time than I know it took. Art in all forms takes time, don't try and make it seem like it doesn't take a lot of time or effort. That's just envious in the worst way.


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

Agreed on all counts. I apologize for the lack of an ending, but I never really intended this to be such an involved project. Originally I wanted the UFO cat to segue into the original Nyan Cat in space with the original music, but I figured that would be too close to plagiarism (the line between homage and theft is a blurry one). Thanks for your feedback!


SeismozSeismoz

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

The rainbow puking cat :D you deserve all the Rs i have



UnknownMedicUnknownMedic

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 13, 2012

The internet will never be too old for nyan cat, you did a great job, i will be looking forward to "nyan cat- across the genre's ..... again." with the highest anticipation. 5/5+5/5 =10