Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Nov 13, 2012 | 5:14 AM EST
  • Weekly Users' Choice November 14, 2012
  • Daily Feature November 14, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Nyan Cat
    Nyan Cat For all your cat pastry needs.

Author Comments

Although I am fully aware that the Nyan Cat meme is about as old as Betty White in internet years, this ridiculous little two-week project was still a lot of fun, and was mainly for the purpose of determining how well I could pull off a wide range of musical styles in Logic. In a perfect world, this project would have been twice as long, but some genres are deceptively tough to reproduce with only a laptop at my disposal. In loving memory of Nyan Cat.

WARNING: There is a brief section about a minute in that makes use of a strobe effect. If you know you suffer from epilepsy, you may want to steer clear.

Reviews


McKillerRusMcKillerRus

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

Please PM me nyan-ufo song!



EggyslavEggyslav

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

That's so awesome! Maybe a sequel? I have many Ideas:

Baroque Nyan: Music is played on harpsichord, Nyan Cat in a powdered wig and justeaucorps strolls through an elegant 17th century palace.

Military Nyan: Nyan cat wearing army uniform, riding a tank, music has a march feel to it.

Oriental Nyan: Nyan cat in kimono and straw hat, walking through far-eastern landscape, rice paddies, pagodas, Great Wall of China, etc.

Spooky nyan: Music is rather creepy, Nyan cat as a ghost walks in a haunted house.

Pirate Nyan: Music played with harmonica, Nyan Cat wears a Bandana, peg-leg and eye-patch, and is steering a ship, while drinking rum.

Scottish Nyan: Nyan cat in kilt, music played on bagpipes.

Reggae/Rasta Nyan: Self-Explanatory... :P


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

All good suggestions. If I can come up with enough viable new genres, I may do a sequel. The big problem I had this time around was that most genres don't fit the tempo of the original song, so I had to scrap a lot of potentially fun ideas.

Also, I tried a baroque version! It sounded terrible. I was going for a Brandenburg Concerto sort of thing, but that style of music involves a ton of counterpoint, and the exposed instruments ended up sounding way too fake. I suppose I could try again...


fuckedyermomfuckedyermom

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

haha god i love pixels, i gotta say my favorite one was in the club, pukin up rainbow pixels lol hilariouse. really well done too



tbcsk8tbcsk8

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

creative :)



xPaleRiderxxPaleRiderx

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

This was simply amazing!
With animating skills like this I would love to see you create an old school adventure game in the realm of Kings Quest / Leisure Suit Larry etc.
That my friend, would be splendidly epic!
Can't wait to see what you come up with next, keep up the great work!


People find this review helpful!
WoodTick responds:

I love adventure games! Mine would probably end up being more Monkey Island than Kings Quest, but I've always wanted to do one. I would really need to do my homework to code it properly, though.