Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2012 | 4:05 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place October 15, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(Please forgive for my English)

Wow... featured! I never thought Echo Bullet can be at that good! Thank everyone so much!

========================
UPDATE: (October 21, 2012)
-Added save function! The game will save automatic after each battle.
-Automatic scaling with SHOW ALL mode. (if you like EXACT FIT mode more please let me know. I'm confused to choose between two modes).
- Now the control system was fixed for both qwerty and qwertz keyboards. If you have any problem with the game control please let me know!
- Fixed issue when shooting in the start / tut scene.

=====================
TIPS:
- Zoom the game screen can reduce the difficulty. When you can easy see your hitbox and enemy bullets it will be pretty much easier! If you play this game in fullscreen I'm sure it will be better!
- Direct contact with bosses doesn't hurt you!

======================
DESCRIPTION:
9 bosses, 30 waves of bullet hell are waiting for you. Go and let your eyes dizzy!

======================
NOTE:
Please leave your feedback to help me improve my game. Hope you enjoy it! Thank you so much!

"I managed to make the first boss, spell 2 like that. I tried to make a nice looking pattern but easy enough for first boss so... I make a pattern with many bullet but have safe spots, the task of player in this spell is to find those spots.

And for me the boss 1 first spell is easy, you just need to move close to the boss, when it shoot, it's make a big gap between it and bullets.

I wish that I could record a video clip of my playing to show the tactics to beat all bosses. There are some patterns seem hard but the tactics to pass them are easier than others. Example for the boss 6 first spell, you just need to relax then keep at the bottom of screen and move inside two lines of bullet. On this way you can pass the spell without losing any life!"

Reviews


jasonl816jasonl816

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

The game is pretty good in the bullet shooter genre, but IT'S FREAKING HARD....i guess that doesn't count as something bad, but seriously, IT'S FREAKING HARD. I didn't like a picture of what i was playing in the preloader cause it made me think the game was going to be blurry, but it wasn't...it was crisp....AND FREAKING HARD. (burnt)


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

(Please forgive for my English)

I'm confused. Some players said it so hard, some players said it's not hard enough! In my personal opinion, the game labeled with "bullet hell" or "danmaku" must be hard, even pretty hard and seem impossible, how hard is it-how it fun (of course it must be possible to beat even it seems impossible)! Compare with other "real bullet hell" games, I think my game is medium difficulty, even easy. But sure It's hard with players didn't play these kind of games much and like a piece of cake with hard core bullet hell fans. Maybe in my next game I will scale the difficulty range, so anyone can enjoy playing from easy before they put themselves to lunatic. Last thing and the most important thing I want to say is Thank You so much for playing. :D


WobbleGobbleWobbleGobble

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

i found boss number 3 to be unbeatable. im sure theres a way to do it i just found it too hard and time eating to do so (since i beat bosses 4 and 5 rather fast) its just during the 2nd pat after you get boss number 3's health bar down the first time. his attacks become focused at you, and due to the fact they close together there is 0 chance of weaving through them like on the other bosses. the only way i was able to do any damage was by going around him in a big circle and then only a few shots were able to hit due to the wide range of his attack. this is only my feedback im sure others found him to be no challang at all, but thats all i have to say. other than that the other bosses were beatable and fair. the game overll was fun as well, loved the music.


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

(So sorry for my English :<)

I have a tip: Keep pressing shift, just move left and right a little bit to dodge green bullets and you can easy beat him. :D

Thank you so much for playing and feedback!


CylunCylun

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

-------------------------------------
------------------
You need to implement a save function!
-------------------------------------
------------------

I'm seeing inspiration from a lot of games, primarily Touhou: SA, here. It's obvious that you like Touhou a lot (spell break!), though I would have hoped for a wider variety of references. There are a few logistical issues with the game. Typically, in bullet hell shooters, the bullets actually have smaller hitboxes than their sprites -the ship isn't the only thing with a smaller hitbox. This, coupled with the relatively high speed of movement-even under focus shot- causes some of the attacks to be very difficult to dodge.

This game is pretty dizzying, overall, even though the bullet patterns often aren't as difficult as those in other bullet hell games. I think it might have something to do with the brightness of the projectiles. The ship's hitbox itself, though, is a bit dim, making the ship somewhat hard to trace.
To compound this problem, the bosses move quickly and constantly. In Touhou, the confusion caused by moving bosses was mitigated by an "ENEMY" icon appearing at the bottom of the screen beneath the boss's horizontal position. Perhaps you could implement this into the game.

-You never explain that direct contact with a boss doesn't hurt you

-Boss 5's "labyrinth" of bullets , presumably inspired off of one of Koishi's patterns, often produces situations that you can't really escape. The bullet's hitbox is just small enough to scrape between the bullets, but the focus movement speed is a bit too fast for that to be logistically possible. Perhaps the boss should remain stationary here?

-The final boss does not have enough HP! Coming out of the two bosses before him, he feels a bit underwhelming, and I beat him on the first try without a problem. Maybe you could give it a "true last boss" form for players with a certain score coming into the fight? At the very least, you should give it more HP

-I'm not exactly a big fan of the scoring system. There's something a bit embarrassing about floating around with twelve lives for singular duels with bosses. I understand that the large lifecount, coupled with the fast bullet speed, allows players to differentiate their scores from one another, but with that many lives, it often feels like I"m just stumbling through patterns. The speed with which you defeat the bosses is one way to measure a player's skill,yes, but with the way that the bosses move, this often becomes more a measure of luck than skill.

Usually AAA bullet hell titles (Dodonpachi Daifukkatsu, ESPGaluda 2, Touhou : Imperishable Night) have some idiosyncratic scoring system. At the very least, maybe you could make grazing a way to gain points?

All in all, I think that, while the game is fun, it lacks a certain bit of polish and balance that would make it a great flash bullet hell.


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

(Please forgive for my English :<)

Thank you so much! Your feedbacks are pretty useful! With these things you said I can make my next games more better. A sad thing, I can fix movoment speed and HP of last boss when I released the game because scoring system, It seems not fair for who submited his score. About save function I'm working on it! :< Now I can make more better bullet hell games thanks for everyone feedbacks. :D

Another thing, I really love Touhou, love it so much.

Thank you again. :D


narusaku2117narusaku2117

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

I have to say thisis pretty good! The music in my opinion is a little bitter, but still a very good game none the less.


People find this review helpful!

GaruflaxGaruflax

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 20, 2012

This reminds me a lot to Touhou.Are you sure you didn´t steal it?A lot of patterns are equals to some Touhou bosses.

Tips to improve game:
Add a save system(I was missing only 3 bosses and i have to do all again -_-).
A bomb system would be nice(you prese S and all the bullets disappear).


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

(Sorry for my English)

I don't think I stole anything. I'm fan of Touhou and Touhou inspire me for this game. At first, I put "touhou" in the game labels. But I didn't manage to remake any pattern from Touhou, I just tried to make best patterns that I can make and somehow some of them simulate some Touhou boss spells. Also I simulated other things from Touhou like control system. Anyway I love Touhou and so I think it's the point, my mind was full of Touhou!

I added save function! But can't add bomb system or anything that can change the game difficulty, I'm so sorry but if I do that it will be unfair for many players who submitted their score. :<

Thank you so much for playing and feedback! :D