Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 13, 2012 | 4:05 PM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place October 15, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

(Please forgive for my English)

Wow... featured! I never thought Echo Bullet can be at that good! Thank everyone so much!

========================
UPDATE: (October 21, 2012)
-Added save function! The game will save automatic after each battle.
-Automatic scaling with SHOW ALL mode. (if you like EXACT FIT mode more please let me know. I'm confused to choose between two modes).
- Now the control system was fixed for both qwerty and qwertz keyboards. If you have any problem with the game control please let me know!
- Fixed issue when shooting in the start / tut scene.

=====================
TIPS:
- Zoom the game screen can reduce the difficulty. When you can easy see your hitbox and enemy bullets it will be pretty much easier! If you play this game in fullscreen I'm sure it will be better!
- Direct contact with bosses doesn't hurt you!

======================
DESCRIPTION:
9 bosses, 30 waves of bullet hell are waiting for you. Go and let your eyes dizzy!

======================
NOTE:
Please leave your feedback to help me improve my game. Hope you enjoy it! Thank you so much!

"I managed to make the first boss, spell 2 like that. I tried to make a nice looking pattern but easy enough for first boss so... I make a pattern with many bullet but have safe spots, the task of player in this spell is to find those spots.

And for me the boss 1 first spell is easy, you just need to move close to the boss, when it shoot, it's make a big gap between it and bullets.

I wish that I could record a video clip of my playing to show the tactics to beat all bosses. There are some patterns seem hard but the tactics to pass them are easier than others. Example for the boss 6 first spell, you just need to relax then keep at the bottom of screen and move inside two lines of bullet. On this way you can pass the spell without losing any life!"

Reviews


chibibuckychibibucky

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 14, 2012

you are horrible people!! :D



1Ren1Ren

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 5, 2013

So good patterns and gameplay.I really felt like playing touhou/hard danmaku on my best stages and spellcards.

Fixing a bit more the hitbox/adding stuff like backgrounds(to avoid getting a bit dizzy) would make a perfect game.

I really liked this game. Hope you keep making more.



fighter5killsfighter5kills

Rated 5 / 5 stars March 11, 2013

I like this game. pretty hard. that 9th boss last patter went too far. (also HP)
Nice game


People find this review helpful!

BloodCriBloodCri

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 7, 2013

I must say that I'm impressed. This feels like a true danmaku. It actually feels like EoSD crossed with SA...

A few things. The hitbox feels just a little bit too high. that threw me off some. The hitbox also feels a little too big. the hitboxes of both the bullets and our own hitbox should be slightly smaller. Not by much. Just enough to squeak through some of the smaller gaps.

Another thing. Its one thing to have difficult patterns but some of the bosses seemed just a touch unfair. In the "eternal meek" sort of way... Except I dont have a bomb to waste. It's especially bad on the purple face. an easy remedy is to just slow the bullets down some. This will add more justification to the insane broken paternless patterns while also allowing us to actually dodge them. (slowing things down will let us appreciate the patterns more as well)


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

I'm working on Echo Bullet 2. Compared with this version, the 2nd version has very high quality graphics and so far better bullet patterns, very very very far better! Hope you take a look when it be released!

Thank you so much for playing and feedbacks!


Nazad-the-WolfNazad-the-Wolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2012

Bullet hell is not quite my cup of tea, but I got to give credit where credit is due.
This is a really good shooter game, the first one on Newgrounds to catch my interest since Starshooter and Bullett Heaven, which by the way you should totally play, least you already did.
I still can not defeat the fifth and sixth boss, but I will figure out something sooner or later.
I am having a lot of fun testing out different movement patterns to find the most efficient one, in order to get hit less and chipping away at the enemy's lifebar as quick as possible, so that the boss goes down faster, leaving less chances for me to make mistakes and lose lives.
In short, the "devise a tactic trough trial and error" aspect really intigues me.
I would like to share what I learned about the first bosses, and the game in general.
(IF YOU LIKE TO FIGURE OUT THE TACTICS ON YOUR OWN, PLEASE STOP READING)
General:
1) Knowing how and when to switch efficiently between "Normal" and "Focus" mode is mandatory to get an high score.
Seriously, I can not stress enough how much this skill is important.
2) Trying to "tank" the hits by standing right in front of the boss and trading lives for hitting the enemy with a quick short range barrage of bullets is a fine tactic in some shooters, but in this one is pretty much suicidal.
Your damage output is too low and the post-hit invincibility is too short to even think of doing something like that. (There is an ecception, covered in point 3)
3) Breaking a boss' spell card will remove all the enemy bullets on the screen, thus, if the boss' lifebar is almost completely empty and you find yourself locked into a difficult pattern and swarmed by lots of bullets, just try to get as much hits in as fast you can: if you panic you will lose lots of lives in a really short amount of time, and while you move trough the screen in a desperate attempt to dodge, the enemy will probably fire more and more bullets, making it even more difficult for you to land the decisive strike.
Flying right at him and blasting his face off with the focus shot will probably cost you a life, but hesitating and keeping a defensive stance could cost you much more, so take a little risk and finish him off while you can.

Bosses:

First Boss: His first spellcard is the most dangerous one, but it is not hard to dodge: the "scissor" shots leave plenty of space for dodging between each bullet, but I suggest to not rely on the "Focus" here, as the lower speed might make you easier to hit for the red random bullets, which will pretty much always miss while you go at normal speed.
The second spellcard is beautiful to look at, but it has a crippling weakness: if you just stand at the bottom of the screen, facing the boss, and then move a little to the left, you will find yourself in a safe spot, where the enemy's bulletts will never reach you, and you can just fire away at him until he's dead.

Second Boss: To dodge the first spellcard you just have to enter the circles made by the bullets.
It is not hard, you just have to be quick when passing from a red circle to a blue circle and vice versa: if you look closely, you will see that there is always a spot were you can pass without even risking to get hit. It would be better to keep the "Focus" up in this phase, for the slow and precise movements will make navigating through the circles very easy, on top of that, this boss moves a lot, and the "Focus" shot will help you make every time you can it him count.
While facing the second spellcard discard "Focus", as you will need some speed.
Basically you have to zigzag through the pulsing circles: they expand and shrink, but not all at the same time, so you should keep dodging diagonally while trying to stay as much time as possible on the lower part of the screen, in order to have more time to understand which circle moves slower than the others and is not going to expand in the next 1 or 2 seconds, thus being the safer to be around while moving upward, or when two slow circles are going to shrink simultaneously, creating a safe path in between.


People find this review helpful!
Nonako responds:

Wow! Thank you so much! I'm happy you enjoy it!
Please write more tips for other bosses! I really love to read it from you!