Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 7, 2012 | 10:43 AM EDT
  • Daily 3rd Place October 8, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

**MAY TAKE QUITE A TIME UNTIL THE GAME APPEAR, PLEASE WAIT**

This is an old battle engine for our Flash RPG project that was frozen from May 2011. We decided to reboot this project. It's not even alpha version yet when it froze, you see, so we think we'll let the prototype see the world, than letting it rots in hard disk.

You will fight random enemies in this tech reel (you'll fight different set of enemies everytime!). Battle is done in semi-realtime, semi-turn based. Your turn ("Tide", in game) is timed in the upper-right bar. Your MP regenerates every start of your turn. During turn, you can attack freely and the enemy will not interrupt, as long the action meter (blue bar) and MP is sufficient. BOTH CHARACTERS CAN ATTACK SIMULTANEOUSLY, similar in Valkyrie Profile (tm), However when your turn ends, the enemies that will do the same to you.

CONTROLS:

Select target -> click on desired enemy
Character Command -> Click-and-hold the desired character, then drag the pointer to desired action. The more "filled" the action meter is, the more action will be available. (when the meter exceeds 1st barrier, you can use Lv1 command, exceed 2nd barrier, and you can use Lv2 command, etc).

**DONT USE LV4 ACTIONS YET, IT'S UNIMPLEMENTED**

That's all, have fun! Tell us what you think!

MINTSPHERE
contact@mintsphere.com / http://www.mintsphere.com /

Reviews


CabzxCabzx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2012

I like this. It reminds me of Paper Mario's battle system. I think you should let me use the keyboard as well.

I recommend you sepnd some time with this demo.



Melvis2550Melvis2550

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 7, 2012

Graphics and music are all fantastic. Can't wait till this is completed. It looks really professional.



balke91balke91

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 7, 2012

For a demo this does display combat fairly well, the idea of different abilities having different 'charge times' and MP costs is a great way to make it more interesting. Though, it does seem to be a bit repetitive (Which would likely be solved in a full game, due to more diverse skills, more party members, more enemies, etc.) and the way that combat 'pauses' during animation or while selecting a move generally means you can push through a fight as fast or as slow as you want.
Along with MP regenerating between turns it seems like you aren't overly punished if you go crazy with your skills.
So it seems like it is based around simply managing the resources of time, mana, and health in order to beat whatever your fighting.
Which likely means combat shouldn't be too common (Since while the combat is tactical, it can easily get repetitive without EXTREMELY diverse enemies/bosses, which is difficult to pull off on a mass scale.) and the game would likely be short-and-sweet.
Sadly this is a demo and not a full RPG.
Though customization (If this is turned into a full on game) would be very hard to balance, but overall: I say the concept is good.



ManjinaAttacksManjinaAttacks

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2012

Wow.. Brings me back to the days of Blade Dancer and Luminant Spark where you draged over the attacks and waited for the meter on each person to grow to do different attacks.. This has the almost same idealistic as that and better :D Thank you soo much and i know that its still in alpha/ pre alpha.. But i am really waiting for this to be public beta or full game.. Please get it finished with a map, story and good character development 5/5 definitively from me <3



SpikeVallentineSpikeVallentine

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 7, 2012

Wow! Hey! Very nice! Original battle system! (Never seen this before.)
This is a treat, I don't see much original battle systems.

Very nice. I wonder if you'll finish this.