Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 5, 2012 | 1:19 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature October 6, 2012

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


User Creations

Sort By:
w=yarrr , by zaynejamie 11 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Rain , by zaynejamie 7 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
NFL Old Spice , by CheeseburgerJay 18 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Oh Mark , by BluWind 12 views Created 1 Score: 5.00 / 5 Load Level
Oh Mark , by BluWind 5 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
CLEAN IT UP! , by CheeseburgerJay 21 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
CLEAN IT UP! , by CheeseburgerJay 3 views Created 1 Score: 5.00 / 5 Load Level
One Ring , by FerrikGonda 34 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
Chocolate Rain Lip Sync , by Glboom 42 views Created 1 Score: 5.00 / 5 Load Level
Chocolate Penis Lip sync test , by Glboom 7 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level
test , by Glboom 12 views Created 1 Score: 3.00 / 5 Load Level
Not your broom (Unfinished2) , by monkeyman06 4 views Created 1 Score: 0.00 / 5 Load Level

Author Comments

JohnnyUtah and I are working on a BIG game with a lot of in-game voice acting. It would be a mess to animate all that lip-syncing inside the heads of in-game characters, so I made this tool that lets us construct strings of lip-sync data. This way, each character just needs a few different frames that can be manipulated by the data.

The tool was kinda FUN, so we decided to turn it into a toy for everyone to play around with! You can load any audio track from NG or the web and manually lip-sync it. We've also tapped into the NG sharing system to let you save and browse the collective works of the community.

The SAD NEWS is that AS2's sound.position property turns out to be BAD and doesn't update every frame as expected. Playback results also vary by OS/browser. If an animation is out of sync, try hitting the "+" or "-" button, an offset between -2 and +2 should help although to REALLY fix this thing I need to finally get into AS3. :(

IMPORTANT: If you are using one of those Amazon URLs, note they have an "Expires" value in there, meaning your submission will eventually break. Maybe you can just remove the expiration data from the URL, not sure.

UPDATES 10/10/12:

1) When you save your creation you can now check a box to make it available to the public, so no one will see your work in progress until you're ready.

2) The Browse page has two tabs - "ALL" and "MINE", so you can access your own creations. Your unpublished works will appear when browsing your own creations.

3) View counts are now available while browsing entries.

UPDATE 10/31/2012

Fixed some issues with the public/private setting on files as well as the browsing of files. It should all work correctly now!

Reviews


PikistikmanPikistikman

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 18, 2012

So I think I should tell you now that this "review" is really just a vessel for a question. But, as a man of my word, I'll review your "game" anyway. Essentially, it's a cute diversion that really belongs in the App Store. Of course, that doesn't necessarily mean it's bad, it just means your "game" is shallow. Now before you start yelling at me, saying "It clearly says in the description that this isn't a legit game. What the fuck do you want from me?" I'm going to say this: just because it's a cute diversion doesn't mean it has to be shallow. The reason I say it's shallow is because it lacks. No heads, mind, I'm fine with the two or three you have. My problem lies within the fact that there isn't a wide enough range of emotion sprites, eyes OR mouth. Sure, this isn't a big problem, in and of itself, the problem lies within this tools potential use. If this is a tool for what I think it is, then you should keep this review here in mind while continuing your work.

Onto my question: Does this have anything to with the presumed dead BattleBlock Theatre? Oh, I know that it's still in the works, and I'm not saying that you don't have other things to do; but if this IS a tool for BattleBlock Theatre, then it means that you guys at The Behemoth are a hell of a lot farther ahead on the project than you're letting on. And that's a good thing.

Anyway, I think it's important for you guys to know that the Talk Head tool should be put on the App Store, and more importantly that you should definitely improve this; if only a tiny bit.

I'm going to lie down now. I just ran a 5k, and I only just took my Zoloft after a two day break. Needless to say, my head is spinning like all hell.


People find this review helpful!
TomFulp responds:

It's not a tool for BattleBlock Theater, it's actually for a game that is a few years ago, where BBT is getting very close.

For the console game it can acconmodate custom expressions for specific characters that need them. As a web app, we've tried to keep moving on with everything else so there likely won't be new expressions or faces any time soon. :(


mune666mune666

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

What an innovative tool! And for others, a great toy.



TixerpTixerp

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 17, 2012

This is an extremely fun "gadget" to play with, or to practice lip syncing, Great Job.


TomFulp responds:

Thanks!


MoiderahMoiderah

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2012

It's a lot of fun, and it's a great way to practice lip sync. Granted, the best way is just grabbing a copy of Flash and practicing there, this is still a really good way to try it out with very little consequence.

I loved playing with it. Nice job, guys.


People find this review helpful!

pboxinatorpboxinator

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 9, 2012

This is a highly creative and flexible flash that provides a chance for contribution to the community through syncing of songs yet to be synced or improving on previous syncs -- very engaging! Nice work!
On a brief final note, I almost broke down into tears when I saw the first lip sync for Gangdam Style. lol


People find this review helpful!
TomFulp responds:

I haven't seen that one yet, I better check it out.